Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-09-2014, 10:33 AM
SteveGarman SteveGarman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Oklahoma City, OK,USA
Posts: 335
Default Mac Pro now takes two tries to start.

My MacPro (Mid2012) has been running fine, but yesterday it wouldn't start on the first try. Front fan starts and lights come on but I never get the sound from the speaker signifying that all has begun also just black screen. I then power down from the front button, wait 30 seconds and push the button again. This time I do get the splash screen and the sound and all is well. This seems to be the way it's going to work from now on and that bothers me.

Since it isn't SOP, one day it just might not come on after the second try. Does this seem like a power supply issue? Should I get another power supply as a standby unit? Any way to diagnose this problem? What do you suggest?

I'm running OSX 10.8.5 and haven't added any software or upgraded anything to cause this situation that I know of. A couple of times I've just held the power button in for about ten seconds and it has started correctly but that doesn't work every time and probably isn't good on the system.

Mac Pro, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.5)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-09-2014, 11:06 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Mac Pro now takes two tries to start.

have you tried resetting the Power Manage Unit (PMU) button on the MoBo
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-10-2014, 11:01 AM
suicune suicune is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wolverhampton, UK
Posts: 896
Default Re: Mac Pro now takes two tries to start.

Quote:
have you tried resetting the Power Manage Unit (PMU) button on the MoBo
I thought procedure to reset PMU on MacPros was to pull the power cord for 15 secs? I don't think they have a button on the MoBo, that was the PPC generation:

http://support.apple.com/en-gb/HT3964

Anyway to the OP, if it's any consolation our 2007 model has been doing that every now and again for at least 4 years and has never given up the ghost completely. Most of the time it works if you power down and power back on again. Very occasionally it doesn't - in which case unplugging the cable to reset the PMU has always worked.
__________________
M2 Studios
Wolverhampton, UK
http://www.madhat.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-10-2014, 12:46 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Mac Pro now takes two tries to start.

maybe, so many models bouncing around in my head I get confused sometimes
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-10-2014, 03:33 PM
RamblerSound RamblerSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 105
Default Re: Mac Pro now takes two tries to start.

I just went through this my my 2012 quad core Mac Pro. I had two major problems. A bad power supply and a bad front power button. It was under Apple Care and fixed for free but it took about 30 days on the Apple workbench to be fixed.

If you have Apple Care and are going to take it in I would remove any third party parts. I ended up taking out my HD Native card and swapping out my OWC ram for the stock ram. The Apple technicians got way too hung up on third party parts before they would even consider that it might be the machine.

Best of luck,

Scott
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 10 takes forever to start up DJYoutubeDJ Pro Tools 10 3 06-28-2013 02:39 PM
Pro Tools 11 takes forever to start? hollywoodbeats Pro Tools 11 6 06-25-2013 06:49 AM
PT9 takes forever to start opening Ryan Young macOS 2 12-27-2010 04:51 PM
Transport takes 5 seconds to actually start bunderson Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 07-15-2008 09:29 AM
001 recording start takes forever jtrolka 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 05-29-2003 01:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com