Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-14-2011, 12:50 PM
ampersandrecording ampersandrecording is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Encinitas, CA
Posts: 4
Default Will PT 9 continue to be developed now that 10 is out?

I'm sorry if it's been discussed ad nauseum, but I've searched forums and not seen anything. I can tell that there are upgrade paths and people are debating the price, but can't tell whether AVID has announced that it will terminate or continue PT 9 development. We didn't even make it to 9.1, so I think it's a valid concern.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-14-2011, 05:03 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,211
Default Re: Will PT 9 continue to be developed now that 10 is out?

I'm not counting on it...
__________________
Help Us Help You



Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
Pro Tools HD 2019.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-14-2011, 06:38 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Will PT 9 continue to be developed now that 10 is out?

old DTS said it would but, that was before the hatchet fell
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-14-2011, 10:33 PM
bashville bashville is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,128
Default Re: Will PT 9 continue to be developed now that 10 is out?

Please just get me up to Lion with it.....
__________________
HD Ultimate (Native), PT2019.5, 192, 3.2 Quad MacPro 5,1, 16 Gig, Sierra
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-15-2011, 08:04 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,643
Default Re: Will PT 9 continue to be developed now that 10 is out?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ampersandrecording View Post
I'm sorry if it's been discussed ad nauseum, but I've searched forums and not seen anything. I can tell that there are upgrade paths and people are debating the price, but can't tell whether AVID has announced that it will terminate or continue PT 9 development. We didn't even make it to 9.1, so I think it's a valid concern.
Why would they? I mean it's no longer a current release, and 10 will work with all the old hardware so what's the point of devoting resources to it? I would imagine they *might* get it to a non-beta version with Lion, but that's about it.

best,
rich
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-15-2011, 04:10 PM
Draulym Draulym is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bunbury West Oz
Posts: 217
Default Re: Will PT 9 continue to be developed now that 10 is out?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Breen View Post
Why would they? I mean it's no longer a current release, and 10 will work with all the old hardware so what's the point of devoting resources to it? I would imagine they *might* get it to a non-beta version with Lion, but that's about it.

best,
rich
+1 unfortunately
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-15-2011, 04:47 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Will PT 9 continue to be developed now that 10 is out?

I would hope for official Lion qualification and a cs update to fix any outstanding bugs.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-16-2011, 02:59 PM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,198
Default Re: Will PT 9 continue to be developed now that 10 is out?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post

I can unequivocally say that we're continuing to roll out updates to 9 - I know because I'm part of the team working on those updates.

From this thread.


and:


Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post

FWIW - we are continuing development and fixing issues with 9.0.5. It's not a 'dead product' here.

From this thread.


Although bearing in mind who made those statements, he could have been tempting fate for PT9 as much as himself....
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-16-2011, 03:12 PM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,643
Default Re: Will PT 9 continue to be developed now that 10 is out?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
I would hope for official Lion qualification and a cs update to fix any outstanding bugs.
Yes, seems like that would be their goal, though the "fix any outstanding bugs" part is probably not realistic; sort of like world peace...
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-17-2011, 09:28 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,905
Default Re: Will PT 9 continue to be developed now that 10 is out?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Breen View Post
Yes, seems like that would be their goal, though the "fix any outstanding bugs" part is probably not realistic; sort of like world peace...
Sort of like every previous version of PT
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this platform developed any further? Damien_Reich Artist Series 67 12-28-2013 11:09 PM
Has this Plug-in been Developed?? menotyou Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-12-2004 12:52 PM
"feature not yet developed" vicwind 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 07-13-2004 01:54 AM
Plug-in Idea I'd like to have developed Jordan F. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 03-15-2003 08:54 PM
Who developed the PreAmps in 002? Patriq 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-24-2002 07:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com