Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #171  
Old 09-13-2019, 11:37 AM
JingleDjango JingleDjango is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Toronto
Posts: 29
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
I said the same thing x amount of posts/pages back.

I totally agree. You want us to pay a yearly fee? Sure thing. Deliver the goods and I don’t have an issue.

You want us to pay up front on the promise that you’ll deliver the goods and then don’t? Hmmmm... Something’s missing.
This is my feeling as well. I have no problem paying yearly to keep up my license. I don't even mind the price increase, in theory. It still comes in as a reasonable expense for my business. My only gripe is we are not seeing the kind of lively development we were led to expect, in my opinion.
Reply With Quote
  #172  
Old 09-13-2019, 12:06 PM
zion's Avatar
zion zion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by DOZ View Post
Let's not give Avid any more excuses. We need to hold them to their words. There is a lot of Excuses in this thread for Avid to use. My money has a Vote. If by December 30th I'm not Happy; I will wait 2 years to get back on.
Well said!
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6 | Studio One 4.5 Pro | Pro Tools 12.5.2 HD | Apollo X8 | UAD Octo Sat | UAD Quad Sat | Mac Mini 2018 i7 | 16GB Ram | 512GB SSD | Mojave 10.14.3 | OWC ThunderBay 4 | Drives’s Samsung EVO 860 + 840 + Crucial M4 SSD | Plugins | UAD, Softube, Waves, Nugen, Fabfilter, SSL, Lexicon, Eastwest, NI KOMP 9 ULT, PSP, IKMulti, Antares, Celemony, Slate Dig, etc | AKAI Pro Adv 61 | PreSonus Fader Port | Townsend Labs Sphere L22
Reply With Quote
  #173  
Old 09-13-2019, 12:26 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,793
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JingleDjango View Post
My only gripe is we are not seeing the kind of lively development we were led to expect, in my opinion.
It's not just your opinion, it's the opinion of nearly all, and when those standouts allow themselves to speak their minds (instead of spouting the fuel of their ulterior motives) it becomes everyone's opinion. No one truly prefers stagnant feature implementation any more than they'd prefer an uglier wife. What you say in public isn't the same as what you think in private.
Reply With Quote
  #174  
Old 09-13-2019, 12:52 PM
jpsexton's Avatar
jpsexton jpsexton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Margate, FL
Posts: 109
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
It's not just your opinion, it's the opinion of nearly all, and when those standouts allow themselves to speak their minds (instead of spouting the fuel of their ulterior motives) it becomes everyone's opinion. No one truly prefers stagnant feature implementation any more than they'd prefer an uglier wife. What you say in public isn't the same as what you think in private.
I'd like to believe that but in every thread that someone post's about their dissatisfaction someone else will come to Avids defense and it usually spirals downhill from there.

Apparently there are some that prefer an uglier wife.
__________________
Intel - Core i7-8700 3.2GHz 6-Core Processor
Asus - Prime Z370-A ATX Motherboard
Asus Thund​erbolt III​ AIC
16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-2133 Memory
Patriot - Spark 256GB SSD System Drive
Patriot - Ignite 480GB SSD Work Drive
Hisense 43" 4K Display
Presonus Quantum
OS - Windows 10 Pro

Handle every stressful situation like a dog. If you can't eat it or play with it, Just pee on it and walk away.
Reply With Quote
  #175  
Old 09-13-2019, 04:17 PM
jasonkalman jasonkalman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 118
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Software as a Service
Thanks JFreak!
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.10 Ultimate, Omni, I/O, Pre, HDX, iMac Pro, OS 10.14.6 (Mojave), Logic Pro X, UA Apollo UAD-2, UAD-2 Satellite, UAD Ultimate Bundle among others, Waves 11: Mercury, Abbey Road, Studio Classics, too many other plugins and VIs to name

https://soundcloud.com/jason-kalman
Reply With Quote
  #176  
Old 09-13-2019, 05:49 PM
jasonkalman jasonkalman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 118
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

I think the majority of us are still with Avid, well not Avid, but Pro Tools because there is no other system that offers .7ms RTL like an HDX system does. I've looked at all the options and there just isn't such a beast. So basically my subscription plan is to keep me current so I can update my OS within a reasonable amount of time 6-8 months after release and use HDX.

I do enjoy using Pro Tools software, I am still annoyed at the inability of Pro Tools to use all of a host's native power to run plugs. Avid needs to figure out how to tap into the raw power of these multi-core machines. With the new Mac Pro coming out, there is no excuse for Pro Tools to ever run out of CPU power. That is the one thing I think Avid needs to heavily invest engineering hours on. It is one thing to run out of voices, but to run out of CPU power on a massively powerful computer way before you run out of voices is unacceptable. If they fix nothing else but this, I'm a happy camper.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.10 Ultimate, Omni, I/O, Pre, HDX, iMac Pro, OS 10.14.6 (Mojave), Logic Pro X, UA Apollo UAD-2, UAD-2 Satellite, UAD Ultimate Bundle among others, Waves 11: Mercury, Abbey Road, Studio Classics, too many other plugins and VIs to name

https://soundcloud.com/jason-kalman
Reply With Quote
  #177  
Old 09-13-2019, 07:39 PM
coolbass coolbass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 135
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrekcor View Post
Yeah like the prompts you get whilst installing a new Waves plug, that ask you if you want to include the current updates not apparently installed, and you take the install updates later option only to find when you go back to find these apparent updates no longer exists.... perhaps they didn’t exist in the first place..... perhaps they are imaginary updates..... yup gotta love those Waves updates.
This is nonsense.
Reply With Quote
  #178  
Old 09-13-2019, 08:46 PM
jscomposer jscomposer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Boogie Woogie
Posts: 361
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

We probably won't see an update till after Catalina arrives. Hopefully they qualify 2019.6 with it as well. Otherwise, I'm PARKED parked.
Reply With Quote
  #179  
Old 09-13-2019, 09:25 PM
jpsexton's Avatar
jpsexton jpsexton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Margate, FL
Posts: 109
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonkalman View Post
I think the majority of us are still with Avid, well not Avid, but Pro Tools because there is no other system that offers .7ms RTL like an HDX system does. I've looked at all the options and there just isn't such a beast.
Studio One with the Quantum is close at 32 samples and even better at 16 samples but on my system 32 seems to be the practical limit. With a more powerful machine 16 wouldn't be a problem.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg s1.jpg (25.8 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Intel - Core i7-8700 3.2GHz 6-Core Processor
Asus - Prime Z370-A ATX Motherboard
Asus Thund​erbolt III​ AIC
16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-2133 Memory
Patriot - Spark 256GB SSD System Drive
Patriot - Ignite 480GB SSD Work Drive
Hisense 43" 4K Display
Presonus Quantum
OS - Windows 10 Pro

Handle every stressful situation like a dog. If you can't eat it or play with it, Just pee on it and walk away.
Reply With Quote
  #180  
Old 09-13-2019, 09:37 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,649
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpsexton View Post
Studio One with the Quantum is close at 32 samples and even better at 16 samples but on my system 32 seems to be the practical limit. With a more powerful machine 16 wouldn't be a problem.


You need to add the input and output latency to compare RTL. When you do that, you’re at 3 times the quoted HDX figure.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Update Module Firmware message after 3.7 update WildHoney Pro Tools | S6 1 10-21-2017 12:28 PM
Sierra 10.10.6 - To COMBO update - or App Store Update ? Seafoam_Green macOS 4 09-15-2017 02:19 PM
HD Native cant Update Firmware after installing PT9.0.5 Update Aditu Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 72 11-27-2012 04:57 PM
10.3 Update - Windows shutdown issue has returned. Update at your own risk. crm0510 Windows 14 09-19-2012 02:50 PM
10.5.6 update. Is it safe to apply the system update from 10.5.5? SBCCMusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 02-02-2009 03:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com