Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-15-2019, 07:14 PM
tritonkorg tritonkorg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: California
Posts: 165
Default Accidentally recorded over a midi track with Merge on

In brief:

Midi track 1 was recorded. Somehow I had record enabled the same track and recorded a piano performance...a long and pretty busy performance. Midi Merge was on, so now both performances are on the same midi track with notes all over the place. There's no way I can manually separate the two.

I desperately need to isolate/separate the 2nd (last) performance which is mixed and merged with the previous one. Is there any way to get these two separated besides having to go through the whole thing manually?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-15-2019, 07:33 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,651
Default Re: Accidentally recorded over a midi track with Merge on

Does undo not work?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-15-2019, 07:58 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,298
Default Re: Accidentally recorded over a midi track with Merge on

This ^ or see inside the session folder if there are any session backups
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-15-2019, 08:20 PM
tritonkorg tritonkorg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: California
Posts: 165
Default Re: Accidentally recorded over a midi track with Merge on

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
Does undo not work?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

No it doesn't. This particular session was recorded 3 months ago. Besides how would 'undo' separate the piano from the previous track?

I don't care about track 1. I just want to isolate/rescue track 2 which is a really busy track. That was the last performance.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-15-2019, 08:23 PM
tritonkorg tritonkorg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: California
Posts: 165
Default Re: Accidentally recorded over a midi track with Merge on

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
This ^ or see inside the session folder if there are any session backups
I have back ups, but how do you separate/extract the 2nd performance from the first? If I bring up a back up session, that'll show me the original performance. What about the 2nd performance?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-15-2019, 08:31 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,298
Default Re: Accidentally recorded over a midi track with Merge on

I don't think that's possible, hopefully someone else has a better answer but I don't see any. Good news is this isn't going to happen to you anymore...probably
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-15-2019, 08:38 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,651
Default Re: Accidentally recorded over a midi track with Merge on

Quote:
Originally Posted by tritonkorg View Post
No it doesn't. This particular session was recorded 3 months ago. Besides how would 'undo' separate the piano from the previous track?



I don't care about track 1. I just want to isolate/rescue track 2 which is a really busy track. That was the last performance.


Sorry. I missed the part about you wanting to keep the merged performance. I thought you just wanted to remove it from the original part.

There’s no way to fix what you’ve done. Manually going through the MIDI clip and seperate get the notes is the only way. Depending on the performance, it may be fast or very tedious.

Best of luck!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-15-2019, 08:40 PM
tritonkorg tritonkorg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: California
Posts: 165
Default Re: Accidentally recorded over a midi track with Merge on

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
I don't think that's possible, hopefully someone else has a better answer but I don't see any. Good news is this isn't going to happen to you anymore...probably
I can't believe I did this! I just thought there might be a way to isolate a performance based on the date or something. Too bad!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-16-2019, 12:46 AM
jscomposer jscomposer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Boogie Woogie
Posts: 363
Default Re: Accidentally recorded over a midi track with Merge on

Maybe import the original midi from a backup session as a new track, and then... something. At least you'll see right away which notes to delete from the "merged" performance. Maybe there's a way to overlay them? Might wanna try calling Avid, see if they have any ideas. If the original midi also included pedal work, this might be impossible.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Midi Notes already recorded drop when midi merge recording EdwardG Pro Tools 12 5 07-03-2019 01:44 AM
I Imported a Track Then Recorded Midi Track Now Changed My Tempo shamanrock Pro Tools 11 3 10-06-2015 11:56 PM
midi sustain on newly recorded track is effecting all other previous midi tracks awritersparadise Pro Tools 11 1 04-24-2015 12:02 AM
Accidentally recorded @ 48K within a 44K session! fingerz88d 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-08-2004 07:18 PM
Midi track is recorded. What's next? jk3horn MIDI 7 03-19-2003 12:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com