Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-11-2014, 07:07 AM
Dynamixaled Dynamixaled is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 88
Default computer question

I recently bought a Mac Pro 5.1 3.33 GHZ-6 core with 24GB RAM in anticipation of upgrading from HD3 to HDX. the dealersays he'll give me full credit toward a brand new 3.7 MacPro with 32 gig 256 flash and Helios 2 Chassis and 4 TB Thunderbolt Array if I want. I'm having problems with my HD3 and it seems like this is the time to upgrade - Is there any significant upside to the new Macs vs the older, heavier towers?

Last edited by Dynamixaled; 11-11-2014 at 07:34 AM. Reason: add info
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-11-2014, 09:18 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: computer question

Keep in mind that HD TDM will not work with Thunderbolt at all, even with a chassis (no Thunderbolt drivers written for it).

So it would have to be HDX with the new Mac Pro.


As to the other question, from what I have read, people have reported that the new Mac Pro is snappier and smoother compared to the older Mac Pro's (and current Imacs), even if the benchmarks are similar. In other words, there is more going on under the hood.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-11-2014, 10:14 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,854
Default Re: computer question

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post

people have reported that the new Mac Pro is snappier and smoother compared to the older Mac Pro's (and current Imacs), even if the benchmarks are similar. In other words, there is more going on under the hood.
I don't know about this. The snappiness is probably due to faster hard drives and flash storage boot drive. All of which you can get in a older model Mac Pro. Add on cars at cheap but you might run out of pci slots if you add a flash storage pci card and a Sata III card.
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-11-2014, 11:56 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: computer question

You may be right. I'm just going by a few comments that were made either on here or Gearslutz.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT HD Computer question amac84 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 12-02-2010 05:01 PM
Computer question. IVcrane 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-17-2009 09:59 PM
Computer Question w/PT M 6.8 JRodJr Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 03-21-2006 08:10 PM
Digi 001 computer out to computer Cable Question dbguitar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-28-2004 04:29 PM
question : can i copy/paste all my computer hard/soft to other computer . for a gig. sandman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 10-10-2001 09:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com