Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 02-16-2012, 02:49 PM

Default Are toms recorded 1 track to 1 piece, or all toms on 1 track?

Okay so i am going to record the midi from addictive drums onto audio tracks to edit. This is my first time doing it. My question is, are drum pieces like toms, and overhead cymbals, recorded onto 1 track for each piece, like each tom having its own track, or do you record all toms to one track, and put all cymbals to one track rather each cymbal having its own track for editing? And when i do this, would i want to record each the drums to a stereo or mono track, and do i want to use the mono plug ins or the mono/stereo plugins, if i record in mono? Im just worried if i use a mono/stereo plug in on a mono tom track that it will cause the panning to go full stereo and to lose its integrity of panning.
Old 02-16-2012, 03:00 PM

Default Re: Are toms recorded 1 track to 1 piece, or all toms on 1 track?

depends on preference, some people like to have the rack toms on one and the floor tom by it self. Personally I record 1 for 1.
Windows 7 ultimate 64 sp1. intel i5 2500k 3.30 ghz. asus p8p67 evo rev 3. 16g kingston ddr3 1600. Asus engtx 560dc2 oc. Seagate Barracuda 7200 9 SATA 80-GB Hard Drive. 2x WD caviar black 7200 500 GB. 1x WD caviar black 7200 1 TB. Seagate Freeagent 7200 1 TB usb 2.0. SIIG NN-440012-S8.

PT 10. SIB 7. ProjectMix I/O. Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56. Focusrite Saffire pro 40. Genelec 8040. Axiom pro 61. Alesis Dm8 pro. Spector ns2000/5. Old vintage Vantage electric guitar. Bunch of VI's and plugins
Old 02-16-2012, 03:08 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightworker View Post