Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-19-2013, 11:34 AM
subwoof subwoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 515
Default Making IR's in Altiverb

Having trouble making Altiverb see new folders I make in the User IR section. I create them in the Mac finder, and then when I open Altiverb it should see them in the User IR section, but it doesn't. Anyone have experience using Altiverb 7 to make their own IR's? I have successfully done it before (last year) when I recorded some IR's in a slot canyon in Utah. They show up in the user section of Altiverb, but new folders do not.

Using version 7.0.5 and Pro Tools 10.3.5
__________________
Michael McDonough, M.P.S.E.
Michael McDonough Sound Design


http://www.mcdonoughsound.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-19-2013, 10:57 PM
Ayush Ahuja Ayush Ahuja is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 76
Default Re: Making IR's in Altiverb

Hi Michael,

Are they Altiverb ready IR's?

For example with the Bricasti M7 wav files (altiverb version) if you just drag them into the User Created IRs folder Altiverb 7 seems to read them just fine. And any folder reshuffling seems to show up too.

With other custom impulses (sine sweeps etc) i've had to use the import IR function while running it in Pro Tools.

I can't seem to understand why it wouldn't work at your end.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2013, 07:37 AM
GuidoHelbling GuidoHelbling is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Winterthur, Switzerland
Posts: 58
Default Re: Making IR's in Altiverb

Hi Michael

As fas as I know, since Altiverb 7 you only can use Altiverb-IR's. It does not accept wav files anymore.
For wav-IR's, you need to add them into the Impulse-Response processor, than it transfers them into the Altiverb format.

If you have recorded altiverb-sweeps then it should import your IR into the user folder. Unfortunattely it only imports mono or 2 channel files, no chance for surround. I sit on a lot of multichannel altiverb-sweeps from my IR collection and wait for the feature to transmit them into the altiverb IR.

Best

Guido
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12 with Dante, MacPro 12 Core, 32 GB RAM, OS 10.11.6,
https://www.avosound.com/en/
https://www.guidohelbling.com/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-20-2013, 08:23 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 607
Default Re: Making IR's in Altiverb

Hi Guido,

Me too, I have some of my own sweeps and also the great ones from your set too.

Apparently according to Aram at Altiverb (on their forum), he's hoping surround support will be included with the imminent next release which will also be AAX native.

That and PT11 would make me a very happy bunny!

Martin
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-20-2013, 08:58 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,425
Default Re: Making IR's in Altiverb

Quote:
Originally Posted by subwoof View Post
Having trouble making Altiverb see new folders I make in the User IR section. I create them in the Mac finder, and then when I open Altiverb it should see them in the User IR section, but it doesn't. Anyone have experience using Altiverb 7 to make their own IR's? I have successfully done it before (last year) when I recorded some IR's in a slot canyon in Utah. They show up in the user section of Altiverb, but new folders do not.

Using version 7.0.5 and Pro Tools 10.3.5
Dragging the IRs into the IR import window in AV doesn't work for you?

Frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.10 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-20-2013, 10:23 AM
GuidoHelbling GuidoHelbling is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Winterthur, Switzerland
Posts: 58
Default Re: Making IR's in Altiverb

Quote:
Hi Guido,
Me too, I have some of my own sweeps and also the great ones from your set too.
Apparently according to Aram at Altiverb (on their forum), he's hoping surround support will be included with the imminent next release which will also be AAX native.
That and PT11 would make me a very happy bunny!
Martin
Hi Martin, this is good news! And thank you for your kind words

Guido
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12 with Dante, MacPro 12 Core, 32 GB RAM, OS 10.11.6,
https://www.avosound.com/en/
https://www.guidohelbling.com/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-21-2013, 10:32 AM
subwoof subwoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 515
Default Re: Making IR's in Altiverb

Thank you all for your comments. The problem has been solved. Aram reminded me that the I can not make a mono IR with a stereo Altiverb open in Pro Tools. The track configuration must match.
__________________
Michael McDonough, M.P.S.E.
Michael McDonough Sound Design


http://www.mcdonoughsound.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Altiverb 7 Regular & Altiverb 7 XL for sale Milamber Buy & Sell 4 02-20-2014 08:24 AM
Altiverb AAX64 ? Altiverb->DDMF metaplugin Paul Turpin AAX Plug-ins 5 11-22-2013 02:59 PM
Will ER ever allow USER IR's? mix2much Eleven Rack 3 03-11-2011 11:52 PM
IR's of stages? Brent_Sydney Post - Surround - Video 1 11-25-2009 11:33 PM
Any EMT IR's out there for Altiverb? DC2light Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 09-13-2002 12:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com