Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-19-2006, 05:00 PM
req06 req06 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 412
Default not a valid record drive on new g5,- valid on pb?!

Hi,

I have recently bought a g5dual 2.0ghz. Today I used the migration assistant in 10.4.3 to connect my powerbook via firewire to "migrate" my powerbook's apps etc. I did this to try and avoid a manual reinstallation of each individual app. After downloading the up to date pace extensions fro my ilok and removing garritan personal orch from my plugins i managed to get pro tools to run. The only problem (and it is quite a big one) I have is that none of my volumes/hds can be set to valid audio record drives, which means I can't do anything. I have tried following the previous thread about trashing prefs etc, checked my lacie firewire is formatted to os x extended format and verified permissions on it.

I have sometimes had this problem on my powerbook, all i did then was to change the name of the drive in the finder screen "get info" tab, then pt would let me reassign the drive in the workspace screen to record and...happy days.

This does not work on the g5 for some reason, and it wont accept my system disk either.

so far I have plugged the drive back into the powerbook and verified that the drive works in pro tools on that (worked as normal),
The drive is seen on the g5 and i can navigate through its contents and edit its properties but digi wont let me use it to record.

Surely there must be some way around this?

there was a thread on this sometime ago but i'm not sure it came to any conclusions to help me really :

http://duc.digidesign.com/showflat.p...7&fpart=4&vc=1

Please help if you can, as it is so frustrating to be so close but yet so far!

systems:

powerbook g4 1.33, 2gbram, digi 002r, pt7.1, mac osx 10.4.3

powermac g5 dual 2.0ghz, 512mb ram (soon to be 2.5gb), digi 002r, pt7.1, mac osx 10.4.3

lacie d2 fw400/800 120gb mac os extended formatted.

I really don't want to have to to reformat.........
__________________
G5 dp 2.0Ghz, 2.5 gb RAM/ G4 Powerbook 15" 1.33mhz, 2gb RAM/ 002r/Lacie D2 FW800/PTLE 7.4
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-19-2006, 05:59 PM
Bassturbator Bassturbator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Belgium
Posts: 227
Default Re: not a valid record drive on new g5,- valid on

Maybe a dumb post, but have you checked if your G5 has the authority to write on the disk,
or is it set to read only?

If that wasn't the problem go to the workspace window, and check the "A" column for the drive.
If it says P (playback) you should change that to R (record). And that should fix it

If that still doesn't work, it's re-formatting time
(and apply the second answer if needed)

Had the same problem with a drive too once... hope this helps!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-20-2006, 04:09 AM
req06 req06 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 412
Default Re: not a valid record drive on new g5,- valid on

hi,

yes the drives have the correct authorisation to write to. I have tried changing the drive letters in workspace but they wont let me.

i assume that as it is also affecting the system drive there must be some other problem that reformatting my lacie will not fix.

digi?
__________________
G5 dp 2.0Ghz, 2.5 gb RAM/ G4 Powerbook 15" 1.33mhz, 2gb RAM/ 002r/Lacie D2 FW800/PTLE 7.4
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-20-2006, 10:01 AM
Bassturbator Bassturbator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Belgium
Posts: 227
Default Re: not a valid record drive on new g5,- valid on

Quote:
hi,

yes the drives have the correct authorisation to write to. I have tried changing the drive letters in workspace but they wont let me.

i assume that as it is also affecting the system drive there must be some other problem that reformatting my lacie will not fix.

digi?
Reformatting is the only way that worked for me...
Hope you find another way, but I doubt it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Not valid record drives .... Steve Zipper 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-06-2008 10:42 AM
no valid record Volume vertical 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-29-2008 12:37 PM
not a valid audio record volume? icarus73 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-21-2007 02:06 PM
How to make a drive a valid Record volume... max cooper 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 09-06-2006 10:53 PM
No record volumes/Not a valid Audio Drive Starx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-26-2003 12:32 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com