Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-09-2016, 06:29 PM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,030
Default Re: -9173 Error caused by UAD Neve 1073 in 12.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArKay99 View Post
Is this happening with your Mac Pro or one of the others, or all three?

Glad I waited before installing 12.5...
staying on 12.4 until all this gets sorted...err bugs fixed.
Only tried on the Mac Pro.
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-09-2016, 06:30 PM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,030
Default Re: -9173 Error caused by UAD Neve 1073 in 12.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
The legacy or the new pre with unison?
The new one.
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-10-2016, 12:22 AM
tonepad tonepad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal USA
Posts: 834
Default Re: -9173 Error caused by UAD Neve 1073 in 12.5

I too am getting -9173 errors on my Win7 clone PT 12.5 install. I'm hardly running any plugs on my current session though I did recently do a Slate VMR update, if I take them out I still get the nag. While I have UAD on this rig I don't have the Neve plugs mentioned here and AFAIR I have only one UAD plug instantiated so far...the Dimension D I believe. I played around with the cache and some Slate Drum settings but it the -9173 will still pop up after awhile. Sooo I booted back to my 12.4 install on my other Win7 drive and the same session is rock solid, the Slate VMR update is not on this install. I will do a roll back tomorrow on the 12.5 clone to 12.4, leave the Slate VMR updated and see what happens. From what I can gather from other users on the forum it seems to be a bonafide bug.
__________________
My day job:

Wilson Dyer MPSE
Sound Supervisor: NCIS Los Angeles, CBS Television
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-10-2016, 04:37 AM
Holly73 Holly73 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ulm, Germany
Posts: 522
Default Re: -9173 Error caused by UAD Neve 1073 in 12.5

I think we are talking about different things here. There is several threads about -9173 errors (mainly) in PT 12.5

But the -9173 with UAD 1073 is an instant one. Hit the EQ button and bam...

DJ, can you confirm it is only the stereo version of the 1073 that's affected?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-10-2016, 05:44 AM
jjnssn jjnssn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 529
Default -9173 Error caused by UAD Neve 1073 in 12.5

On my PC system the instant error that stops playback is a -9171. Indeed I can immediately hit play again and it will not error. I will try to reproduce.

This error had to do with a different plug-in. Removed that plug-in. And system runs fine with the UAD 1073, MP, Vari Mu, and LA-2 on this session. 64 samples.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
____________________________________________

W10 Pro / X99 / E5-1650v3 / 64GB ECC / nVidia P1000 / ASUS TB3 AIC
PT HDX1 / OMNI / HD IO 16x16 / 11R / Kontakt Kontrol S49 / Artist Transport and Mix / UAD OCTO Satellite, Apollo Twin MKII &, x8P Thunderbolt

[Late 2013 10.14 MacBook Pro]

Last edited by jjnssn; 04-10-2016 at 07:33 AM. Reason: update
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-10-2016, 06:48 AM
TAMBOR TAMBOR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 162
Default Re: -9173 Error caused by UAD Neve 1073 in 12.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by MADIrouting View Post
On my PC system the instant error that stops playback is a -9171. Indeed I can immediately hit play again and it will not error. I will try to reproduce.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I'm running a similar system to him, but not seeing the problem. I tested with the 1073 and 1081, no issues at all. I'm running W7 SP1, and a 4.4 GHz overclock, however.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-10-2016, 09:50 AM
john1192 john1192 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,704
Default Re: -9173 Error caused by UAD Neve 1073 in 12.5

can we ask what Plugin it was ???

thank you


Quote:
Originally Posted by MADIrouting View Post
On my PC system the instant error that stops playback is a -9171. Indeed I can immediately hit play again and it will not error. I will try to reproduce.

This error had to do with a different plug-in. Removed that plug-in. And system runs fine with the UAD 1073, MP, Vari Mu, and LA-2 on this session. 64 samples.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-10-2016, 10:59 AM
jjnssn jjnssn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 529
Default -9173 Error caused by UAD Neve 1073 in 12.5

Perception by MeterPlugs. I use it as a utility. Normally don't leave in a session. Like I mentioned. Once I acknowledged the error, it worked fine after.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
____________________________________________

W10 Pro / X99 / E5-1650v3 / 64GB ECC / nVidia P1000 / ASUS TB3 AIC
PT HDX1 / OMNI / HD IO 16x16 / 11R / Kontakt Kontrol S49 / Artist Transport and Mix / UAD OCTO Satellite, Apollo Twin MKII &, x8P Thunderbolt

[Late 2013 10.14 MacBook Pro]
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-10-2016, 12:36 PM
zion's Avatar
zion zion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: -9173 Error caused by UAD Neve 1073 in 12.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Hellfire View Post
Getting the -9173 when using the UAD Neve 1073 preamp/eq. Only tried in one session, but I insert the plugin and as soon as I press the EQ On button, I get a CPU overload error and the -9173. If I leave the EQ off on the plugin, I can use the preamp without an issue. The session pretty much will not play at all with the EQ On. Removing the plugin causes the error to go completely away. Was not happening in 12.4 or lower. Other UAD plugins work fine. The only thing that changed in my system was going from 12.4 to 12.5.
No issues at all here either and I'm on Mac.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6 | Studio One 4.5 Pro | Pro Tools 12.5.2 HD | Apollo X8 | UAD Octo Sat | UAD Quad Sat | Mac Mini 2018 i7 | 16GB Ram | 512GB SSD | Mojave 10.14.3 | OWC ThunderBay 4 | Drives’s Samsung EVO 860 + 840 + Crucial M4 SSD | Plugins | UAD, Softube, Waves, Nugen, Fabfilter, SSL, Lexicon, Eastwest, NI KOMP 9 ULT, PSP, IKMulti, Antares, Celemony, Slate Dig, etc | AKAI Pro Adv 61 | PreSonus Fader Port | Townsend Labs Sphere L22
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-10-2016, 12:53 PM
Holly73 Holly73 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ulm, Germany
Posts: 522
Default Re: -9173 Error caused by UAD Neve 1073 in 12.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by zion View Post
No issues at all here either and I'm on Mac.
Stereo version? My mono one also works fine.
__________________
 MBPr 15" (Mid 2015) i7, PT12.4, Studio One 3, UA Apollo Quad Firewire
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Neve 1073 - your thoughts YYR123 General Discussion 23 11-16-2014 11:33 PM
vintech 273 vs. Neve 1073 MX582 General Discussion 1 10-13-2006 01:40 PM
Best Neve 1073 jlo1182 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 24 01-30-2006 04:54 AM
Neve 1073 DIY Kev Tips & Tricks 1 07-19-2002 01:43 AM
Neve 1073 EQ vs. API EQ nwilson@hns.com Tips & Tricks 8 03-14-2002 01:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com