Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-22-2011, 09:21 PM
Hovak Hovak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 35
Default Pro Tools quit unexpected

Hi there,

After installing Pro Tools 10, it gives an error message.

" Pro Tools quit unexpectedly "

Why is this happening ?

Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-23-2011, 05:56 AM
jemd jemd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 16
Default Re: Pro Tools quit unexpected

Check what plugin is displayed just before it crashes and move that plugin from your plugin folder to the not used plugins folder.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-23-2011, 12:52 PM
Hovak Hovak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 35
Default Re: Pro Tools quit unexpected

It crashes 3-4 seconds after it scans everything ... I don't think it's a plugin issue.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-23-2011, 04:09 PM
Guitarman002 Guitarman002 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 80
Default Re: Pro Tools quit unexpected

I have had the same error message numerous times when using the Strike plug in. I have to start over each time after the crash.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-23-2011, 04:48 PM
Hovak Hovak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 35
Default Re: Pro Tools quit unexpected

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guitarman002 View Post
I have had the same error message numerous times when using the Strike plug in. I have to start over each time after the crash.
how did you fix the problem ?

I am not using Strike ...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-24-2011, 11:47 AM
Hovak Hovak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 35
Default Re: Pro Tools quit unexpected

bump
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-24-2011, 01:01 PM
Ant B Ant B is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 116
Default Re: Pro Tools quit unexpected

This is apparently cross platform. I had this happen a couple times on windows last night - 1 time without even the message, just a system freeze. Happned using the channel strip while recording
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-24-2011, 01:29 PM
Hovak Hovak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 35
Default Re: Pro Tools quit unexpected

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ant B View Post
This is apparently cross platform. I had this happen a couple times on windows last night - 1 time without even the message, just a system freeze. Happned using the channel strip while recording
How did you fix it ?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-24-2011, 01:45 PM
Ant B Ant B is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 116
Default Re: Pro Tools quit unexpected

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hovak View Post
How did you fix it ?
I stopped recording with the channel strip active lol

I didn't have the time or patience to find a permanent solution last night, was in the middle of a session. I'm going to do a laundry list of tweaks and throw out some old outdated plugs that should have been gone awhile back and see if that does anything.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-24-2011, 02:47 PM
Hovak Hovak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 35
Default Re: Pro Tools quit unexpected

I understand your situation, but mine is not even running.

It gives me an error message after it scans everything.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools quit unexpected when opening... Patill 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-30-2011 04:12 AM
The application Pro Tools LE 7.1.1 quit unexpected neilshah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-25-2007 11:34 PM
10.3.9 LE6 unexpected quit creativebond 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-31-2005 01:02 AM
Unexpected Quit with Pro Tools 6.7! Need HELP js54 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-29-2004 04:24 PM
Unexpected quit beholder74 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-26-2004 12:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com