Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-31-2019, 08:57 PM
tonyreed tonyreed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 37
Default Best iMac to upgrade too?

Thinking of upgrading my iMac really to get more RAM and a SSD. I only run pro tools on it. Anybody got advice on how far i need to go Spec wise? I assume its still best to record the music onto an external hard drive?
Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-31-2019, 11:00 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,433
Default Re: Best iMac to upgrade too?

And how does anybody here guess what exact model iMac you have today? What CPU, storage and memory options does it currently have, where are you running into problems? (what errors/issues do you get?).

With any modern iMac, as long as it has an NVMe internal drive, you are almost certainly better off recording to that super-fast internal boot/system drive. So rule number one is to buy an iMac with as large an SSD as possible. This topic of picking an iMac has been discussed before you could just find and follow some of those posts from within the last year or so.

For what I need: internal SSD, 1TB or 2TB. 27" iMac retina 5K, 6 core i7 (maybe 8 core) buy with small as DRAM as possible and upgrader myself (not easy on 21.5" iMac). This will not be cheap, so I would be clear I had a problem to fix by upgrading... adding a recording SSD and more DRAM to your current iMac may be a *lot* cheaper.

You have to make sure the minimal macOS version this iMac will run will work with all your software and interface drivers etc. Often that's the real hard stuff.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 03-31-2019 at 11:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-01-2019, 04:20 AM
tonyreed tonyreed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 37
Default Re: Best iMac to upgrade too?

i have a 21.5" I mac currently late 2015. It has 8GB RAM. I had been told through Avid technical support that the reason for the CPU spike errors was lack of RAM - supposedly I need 16 GB and Im really sick to death of the incessant CPU spike problems. I can't upgrade this particular machine of mine. So hence the question. Im also running 10.13.6. 2.8Ghz i5. Thanks for your help. Cheers Tony
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-01-2019, 11:18 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,433
Default Re: Best iMac to upgrade too?

OK well the memory is soldered to the motherboard in that iMac so not upgradeable.

While I would want at least 16GB in any new Pro Tools computer (or 32GB if not upgradeable, to give the computer a long lifespan). I would not assume that is indeed your problem without checking. An 8GB system may be able to run smaller sessions.

What are you doing in Pro Tools? how complex are your sessions? How many tracks, what plugins, especially VIs and how many instances. Are you mixing or tracking or both? What is your IO Buffer size? What interface? What did Avid support do to determine the memory is the root cause? What exact drive are you recording to? Is the system *fully* optimized? What exact standard troubleshooting have you done? Much of that also helps give an idea how large a new iMac to suggest if that is the route to go.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-01-2019, 12:18 PM
peterle peterle is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Berlin , Germany
Posts: 441
Default Re: Best iMac to upgrade too?

an i5 is also not sufficient for pt btw , it will need an i7 at least.
im not sure if it makes sense to upgrade ram in this model with this cpu ,
which gpu btw?
__________________
foley artist , soundeditor
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-01-2019, 07:39 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,433
Default Re: Best iMac to upgrade too?

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterle View Post
an i5 is also not sufficient for pt btw , it will need an i7 at least.
im not sure if it makes sense to upgrade ram in this model with this cpu ,
which gpu btw?
The i5 in this iMac may be absolutely fine. It is a quad core processor without crappy hyperthreading to upset stuff and need to be disabled We need to be careful not to parrot old advice from days when i5 meant dual core. We have *no* clue what the workload is here until then it’s kind of pointless to make any recomendations or trust what some random Avid support person said even if the system memory is lower than we might all prefer.

First rule of Pro Tools club is always suspect plugins.... was that troubleshooting done??? Hopefully yes if Avid support got involved... but let’s see.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-01-2019, 12:19 PM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,547
Default Re: Best iMac to upgrade too?

I have heard people having great success upgrading the RAM for this iMac by buying two additional 8GB sticks of RAM, and using heavy-duty gaffer's tape to affix the RAM sticks to the back of the iMac - just near where the internal RAM would be.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-01-2019, 02:43 PM
685 685 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 279
Default Re: Best iMac to upgrade too?

Yes, you can upgrade the ram but it may be hard to do depending on your tech skills. Check youtube for iFixit videos. If you decide to open it up you should also look into upgrading your CPU.


i7-6700k


If you need an idea on the newer iMac check this video


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=drtPus0NCW8

Last edited by 685; 04-01-2019 at 02:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-01-2019, 05:28 PM
Oli P Oli P is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 562
Default Re: Best iMac to upgrade too?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyreed View Post
Thinking of upgrading my iMac really to get more RAM and a SSD. I only run pro tools on it. Anybody got advice on how far i need to go Spec wise? I assume its still best to record the music onto an external hard drive?
Cheers.
Why don't you just buy a second hand with more Ram?
__________________
www.olipoulsen.com

iMac27 i7 3.4 / 32 GB Ram / ML 10.8.5
Apollo 8 / PTHD 10.3.9 / PTHD 12.4
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-02-2019, 05:30 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,650
Default Re: Best iMac to upgrade too?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oli P View Post
Why don't you just buy a second hand with more Ram?
I'd check out OWC for that bit of business.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade to iMac? Broken247 macOS 2 06-16-2018 10:54 AM
iMac upgrade Stys64 Pro Tools 12 31 02-04-2016 08:44 AM
Upgrade from PT 6.7 on G.4 to PT 9 on new imac Peter Morley macOS 2 12-12-2010 07:39 AM
PT 8 Upgrade on New iMac i7 n_k_rock 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-29-2009 12:41 PM
upgrade iMac to 7.3 rickf 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-05-2007 07:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com