Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Pro Tools Express on Mac OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 01-13-2015, 03:25 PM
Craig F's Avatar
Craig F Craig F is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,596
Default Re: PTE incompatible with Yosemite??

you need to upgrade to PT11 to run on Yosemite
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-13-2015, 04:57 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,414
Default Re: PTE & OS X Yosemite

The latest version of Pro Tools Express is 10.3.4.

As stated on the product and knowledge base pages as well as the interface boxes that include Pro Tools Express, the supported Mac Operating Systems are Lion and Mountain Lion.

See http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/d...-3-4-Downloads which is linked from the product pages that include Pro Tools Express.

Owners of Pro Tools Express bundled with Mbox/Fast Track interfaces can upgrade to Pro Tools 11 here, and this upgrade was recently reduced from $499 to $199. (FYI- Pro Tools 11.0.3 adds Mavericks support, Pro Tools 11.3 adds Yosemite support.)

Regards,
JC
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-15-2015, 11:30 AM
joseelsantos joseelsantos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Umeå
Posts: 1
Default PTE & Yosemite

Hi. I'm a new user to the Avid community, just got my Fast Track Duo today.

Unfortunatly I was so naive that it never even crossed my mind, that a software 2015 would not be compatible to the latest OS.

And all it says here: http://www.avid.com/US/products/Mbox...cludedSoftware is that it works with 10.7, 10.8.

I bet you $5 that you cannot find a software producer anywhere, that list compatible OS's like that, not mentioning that 10.9 and forward is NOT supported.

So you can easily say that I wasted 200€ on a USB soundcard, without the promised software.

I feel like I've been tricked into buying something I cannot use, and since I bought it from thomann.de (they are not disclaiming the lack of OS compability) I cannot return my product without paying half of it in return-fee.

I have no need what so ever of the full version of Pro Tools. I bought it only to get the Express version.

Now I ask you for 2 things.

First of all, update your website so other people doesn't fall in the same pit. Make it clear that It won't support ANYTHING beyond 10.8. I'm fairly sure that most new customers have upgraded their computers in the last 3 years.

Second, could you please, please, help me out here? It feels really bad having spent 200€ on something I cannot use.

Best regards,
Johan
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-23-2015, 09:58 AM
juanjavier juanjavier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 19
Default Re: PTE & OS X Yosemite

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
Owners of Pro Tools Express bundled with Mbox/Fast Track interfaces can upgrade to Pro Tools 11 here, and this upgrade was recently reduced from $499 to $199. (FYI- Pro Tools 11.0.3 adds Mavericks support, Pro Tools 11.3 adds Yosemite support.)

Regards,
JC
-----Good!! Will Pro Tools 11.3 (for Yosemite) work on an iMac with an Intel Core i5 @ 1.4GHz and 8GB RAM?

I know that Intel Core i5 @ 1.4GHz is not listed in the compatiblity grid but...are there chances it could work?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-23-2015, 12:28 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 11,312
Default Re: PTE & OS X Yosemite

Quote:
Originally Posted by juanjavier View Post
-----Good!! Will Pro Tools 11.3 (for Yosemite) work on an iMac with an Intel Core i5 @ 1.4GHz and 8GB RAM?

I know that Intel Core i5 @ 1.4GHz is not listed in the compatiblity grid but...are there chances it could work?
You need to work out how to answer these questions for yourself. e.g. see http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/d...11-3-Downloads

The i5 is not the best choice for Pro Tools, with an i7 or Xeon generally much preferred, especially if you run a plugin heavy workload. And you need to make sure the rest of your system is suitable (which starts with having a separate dedicated 7,200 rpm or faster HDD or a good SSD for a dedicated audio/session drive). A 1.4GHz i5 would be fairly old and only dual core. So hopefully you have realistic goals in what you want to to in Pro Tools on this computer.. And I'm not going to bother guessing what disk you actually have in the iMac. 8GB is the minimum I'd want in a system. Again it depends on what you are expecting to do. Lots of VIs you may need more.... but you'll also likely start to run out of CPU.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 03-04-2015, 07:59 AM
spider1961's Avatar
spider1961 spider1961 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Dublin
Posts: 12
Default Re: PTE & OS X Yosemite

Hi, and if I upgrade my PTE as suggested at the reduced price, do I get Pro Tools 11.3 which adds Yosemite support?...or do i get Pro Tools 11.0.3 ?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 03-04-2015, 10:18 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,785
Default Re: PTE & OS X Yosemite

If you buy PT 11, you get all "point" updates to it for free. With the new support plan, you also will get any future versions of Pro Tools (12, 13 etc.) that come out while you are current with that support plan (yearly renewal).

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 03-05-2015, 11:18 AM
spider1961's Avatar
spider1961 spider1961 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Dublin
Posts: 12
Default Re: PTE & OS X Yosemite

Many thanks for the prompt replyJoelG
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 03-05-2015, 01:00 PM
spider1961's Avatar
spider1961 spider1961 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Dublin
Posts: 12
Default Re: PTE & OS X Yosemite

I have purchased the upgrade for PTE to PT 11.n
I have activated all the licenses etc. using iLok
I can now see various step upgrades in my available products in my Avid Account.
From the forum i see i can go straight to installing the latest version 11.n.n...however i see advice here and there about uninstalling PTE first...where/how do i uninstall PTE please (I'm on a mac / yosemite)?
Also the read me states i need to download and install EUControl before launching the PT 11.n.n - where do I upload this from?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 03-06-2015, 03:26 AM
spider1961's Avatar
spider1961 spider1961 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Dublin
Posts: 12
Default Re: PTE & OS X Yosemite

Quote:
Originally Posted by spider1961 View Post
I have purchased the upgrade for PTE to PT 11.n
I have activated all the licenses etc. using iLok
I can now see various step upgrades in my available products in my Avid Account.
From the forum i see i can go straight to installing the latest version 11.n.n...however i see advice here and there about uninstalling PTE first...where/how do i uninstall PTE please (I'm on a mac / yosemite)?
Also the read me states i need to download and install EUControl before launching the PT 11.n.n - where do I upload this from?
Ignore this, I have it sorted - Avid support provided instructions on how to do a clean uninstall. I also realise I don't need EUControl unless I'm using a surface etc. So, upgrade done, all hooked up and good.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox Pro and Yosemite? joelrockstar19 FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 17 03-05-2015 07:58 PM
Yosemite and PT10 Eric Lambert Pro Tools 10 Discussion 27 01-24-2015 03:29 PM
Yosemite and PT11 Eric Lambert Pro Tools 11 Discussion 7 09-26-2014 04:10 PM
Project 2 on G4 Yosemite? Songdahl General Discussion 1 10-01-1999 10:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com