Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Old 07-25-2009, 06:31 AM

Default Pro Tools and Roland TD-6V MIDI Recording Basics - HELP!!

Hey everyone. I've never used these forums before but I really need some help and not sure who else to ask! Ok so I just purchased a Roland TD-6V drum kit and am wanting to be able to record drums straight into Pro Tools. I am wanting to do it via midi (I have minimal midi experience) since there are only two audio outputs on the back of the TD-6V and therefore can't record each drum onto a seperate track. I am a midi newby in Pro Tools so can someone please tell me how I would go about setting up the basic midi channels? I have done the basics such as plugging the midi in and out into my 002 rack. The midi in and out lights are coming on when i hit the drum kit pads so that must be a good sign. Where do I go from here? (i.e do i create a midi track or a instrument track?) Also does anyone know what settings I need to change on the module (TD-6v) itself? Thanks
Old 07-26-2009, 12:04 PM

Default Re: Pro Tools and Roland TD-6V MIDI Recording Basics - HELP!!

I just recently bought a TD-9 kit.You can get great help here:

http://www.vdrums.com/forum/
Old 07-26-2009, 02:30 PM

Well if you are trying to record the drums via midi, you will need 2 midi cables and 2 instrument cables for the drum's stereo output.

First thing you should do is hook up the midi cables output to input. this way, you can record the drum sequence you want. You're not recording audio, just midi notes.

Once you have the midi region recorded, play it back. If you have your cables hooked up right, you should hear the drum set "playing itself". This is because pro tools is sending out the midi notes to the VDrum module.