Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 10-13-2012, 05:26 PM

Default Recording Questions

I'm preparing to start recording a CD for our band. I'm using Eleven Rack and Pro Tools. I have zero experience with Pro Tools. I have experience with CuBase VST but because I have Pro Tools with 11R I want to learn Pro Tools.

My plan: Record basic guitar tracks for each song to a click track and then rough mix each song. Give other band members (bass, drums, lead singer) the rough mix. Band members learn and practice the songs then record each band member individually. Mix, tweak, final Mix.

I love the 11R cleans. I'm not a fan of 11R overdrive/distortion. Too fizzy. Parametric EQ for me hasn't done as well as a good pedal such as OCD in front can do. 11R overdrive/distortion is great live... When you push a lot of air through the PA you get away with it and the 11R sounds fantastic. However, I haven't heard the overdrive tones I'm looking for directly from 11R. I'll need to use my favorite pedals in front of 11R or else I'll need to put pedals in the 11R send/return loop.

I assume I'll be reamping because I want the real sounds of cabinets, but this decision is dependent on results from direct recording.

Question 1: Evidently in a conventional 11R/Pro Tools scenario the dry signal of the guitar is recorded concurrently with the rig of 11R. If I Utilized the send/return of 11R is there a way to put a real overdrive pedal into the send/return of 11R and then record in Pro Tools both the dry signal and the wet overdrive from the send/return loop on separate tracks?