Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Old 07-06-2020, 10:33 AM

Default Do I need a PreAmp before Fast Track Duo?

Hi!

I see people on youtube talking about having your guitar connected to a preamp then to the audio interface line input, then to DAW.

Should I do that? Isn't Fast Track Duo a sort of pre amp, it has gain for line input.

When I record my guitar now I don't notice anything wrong with the recording or that I should have a preamp in the chain, I think.

I guess I'm just confused.

Would like some input as to how to do it, if differently than how I do it now.

PS! I am fairly new to pro tools and DAWs.

Thank
Kjetil
Old 07-06-2020, 11:42 AM

Default Re: Do I need a PreAmp before Fast Track Duo?

Hi, fellow countryman, and welcome to the DUC.

No, you don't need a extra preamp. The inputs on the front of your Fast Track are combined mic/line inputs, and should handle most any signal you put there.

Just a friendly advice: I think you'll find the DUC a very useful resource as you get more into recording and Pro Tools. But to get the best help, we need good anfo about your system. Perhaps start by creating a signature so that when you post next time, we can easily see what hardware you use, PT/OS versions etc.

And have a look thru here:
Help Us Help You
Old 07-06-2020, 11:49 AM

And I recommend taking advantage of the many tutorials on the internet. Youtube has a ton of freebies, but some are better than others Groove 3(groove3.com) is a paid source, but the videos are really well done, and there's a free trial for 7 days. Everyone I know that has paid for that has been very pleased

The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Old 07-06-2020, 06:11 PM