Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-01-2003, 10:02 PM
hzway hzway is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southeast
Posts: 15
Default Dual Monitors?

Could anyone tell me the best video card to buy for dual monitors? I have a g4 733. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-01-2003, 11:07 PM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: Dual Monitors?

www.promax.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-02-2003, 06:53 AM
hzway hzway is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southeast
Posts: 15
Default Re: Dual Monitors?

thanks Roberts, I heard there were problems on startup with this card (Promax DHmax) is this the one that you have?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-02-2003, 11:41 AM
FOH FOH is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Missouri
Posts: 55
Default Re: Dual Monitors?

I put a ATI Radeon 8500 in my G4 and couldn't be more pleased!! [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img] I know it is not on the recommened list from Digidesign, but I have had 0 problems with it. It went in fast with no hassel (follow the directions for installing the drivers FIRST then the card), very flexible, and the best part,-- MUCH cheaper than the promax!!! I am running two Viewsonic 21" CRT's and it is great!!! Viewing and scrolling between the two monitors is seamless.
__________________
I believe in the big bang theory. God said it and BANG, it happened!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-03-2003, 01:00 AM
pscat pscat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 50
Default Re: Dual Monitors?

The ProMax DH-MAX has worked very well on my G4 733, and I've got one for sale. If you want it you can reach me at pete@scatsound.com.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-03-2003, 08:59 AM
mostlypost mostlypost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 82
Default Re: Dual Monitors?

I'm running an ATI Radeon 8500 with excellent results.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-03-2003, 09:13 AM
LFO LFO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: France
Posts: 98
Default Re: Dual Monitors?

Quote:
Originally posted by hzway:
thanks Roberts, I heard there were problems on startup with this card (Promax DHmax) is this the one that you have?
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">G4 733 OS 9.2.2 with this dual video card and no problem since more than one year;all you have to do is make sure to remove other video extensions in your system, I think the startup problems come from this point.
hope this help.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-03-2003, 09:45 AM
putney2 putney2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 312
Default Re: Dual Monitors?

DH-Max does not and will not support osX.

I will have one for sale as well.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-03-2003, 09:45 PM
hzway hzway is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southeast
Posts: 15
Default Re: Dual Monitors?

hey guys I went to Mac authority and bought the Radeon 7000 (Mac Edition) Installed it this afternoon. Thanks FOH. I saved about 150.00 bucks by going with ATI
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual Monitors DorianMode001 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 02-01-2005 12:10 PM
Dual Monitors w/ OS 9.x bassist Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-26-2003 03:32 PM
Dual Monitors in PT6 pxpx83 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-18-2003 08:55 AM
002 with dual monitors? scardanelli 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 09-23-2002 03:35 PM
Dual monitors mentalmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 07-15-2002 10:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com