Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-07-2013, 10:00 AM
bradch00 bradch00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lions Bay, Canada - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 1,181
Default 7/8 time signature

This is kind of an odd one to me and am wondering whether it's just this session. It had a 7/8 time signature with only Superior Drummer (the latest update) on a track. Through various buffer settings 64,128,256 (i7 iMac with 7,6,5,4 cores selected, no difference) I received constant -6101 errors. Whether recording or playing. The CPU would never go above 15% usage. Now with other session in 4/4 I have pushed the processor to 70%+ with no hiccup. So I switched the time to 7/4 and it's all good again. Anyone had trouble with non-4/4 time signatures in PT 10?
__________________
Pro Tools 12, Studio One V3.x
iMac 27" 5k i7 4Ghz, 32GB RAM 1TB Flash (OS X 10.10.x)
OWC Thunderbay Mini (4TB SSD)
Interface: Antelope Audio Zen-Studio
Presonus Faderport & Faderport 8
Black Lion Sparrow Mk2 A/D, FMR-RNP-RNC, MIDI Xpress 128
BM5A, KRK VXT4, Equator D5
Macbook Pro 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD Audio(mobile rig)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-07-2013, 01:29 PM
feliponk's Avatar
feliponk feliponk is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Miami, FL, USA
Posts: 1,228
Default Re: 7/8 time signature

Brad: can you please show your session settings?
__________________
Felipe Gonzalez A.
Avid ACSR Elite
Dante Certified
http://felipousismix.wix.com/felipousismix

Custom Mac Pro OSX Mojave | Windows 10 Pro 64 | ProTools HD 2020 | Merging HAPI ADA8 | UAD Quad PCIe | Avid Artist Mix | Kali IN-8 | Presonus Temblor 10 | Softube, SSL, Universal Audio, Slate Digital, McDSP, Fabfilter, Plugin Alliance among other plugins
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-07-2013, 01:55 PM
jasonthurley's Avatar
jasonthurley jasonthurley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York NY
Posts: 1,451
Default Re: 7/8 time signature

Interesting.... I assume its plugin related... Can you try a session without that plug at 7/8 to confirm??
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-07-2013, 02:22 PM
bradch00 bradch00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lions Bay, Canada - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: 7/8 time signature

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonthurley View Post
Interesting.... I assume its plugin related... Can you try a session without that plug at 7/8 to confirm??
I will try that this evening, odd thing is, the sessions that I have lots of plugins on and really drive the processor has sometimes 2 Superior Drummer plugs with no problems 4/4 time sig...
__________________
Pro Tools 12, Studio One V3.x
iMac 27" 5k i7 4Ghz, 32GB RAM 1TB Flash (OS X 10.10.x)
OWC Thunderbay Mini (4TB SSD)
Interface: Antelope Audio Zen-Studio
Presonus Faderport & Faderport 8
Black Lion Sparrow Mk2 A/D, FMR-RNP-RNC, MIDI Xpress 128
BM5A, KRK VXT4, Equator D5
Macbook Pro 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD Audio(mobile rig)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-07-2013, 02:53 PM
bradch00 bradch00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lions Bay, Canada - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: 7/8 time signature

Quote:
Originally Posted by feliponk View Post
Brad: can you please show your session settings?
Will do when I get home.... what session settings do you want to see? Playback Engine?
__________________
Pro Tools 12, Studio One V3.x
iMac 27" 5k i7 4Ghz, 32GB RAM 1TB Flash (OS X 10.10.x)
OWC Thunderbay Mini (4TB SSD)
Interface: Antelope Audio Zen-Studio
Presonus Faderport & Faderport 8
Black Lion Sparrow Mk2 A/D, FMR-RNP-RNC, MIDI Xpress 128
BM5A, KRK VXT4, Equator D5
Macbook Pro 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD Audio(mobile rig)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-07-2013, 10:47 PM
jasonthurley's Avatar
jasonthurley jasonthurley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York NY
Posts: 1,451
Default Re: 7/8 time signature

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradch00 View Post
I will try that this evening, odd thing is, the sessions that I have lots of plugins on and really drive the processor has sometimes 2 Superior Drummer plugs with no problems 4/4 time sig...
True but If the plugin has an issue syncing at that time signature it could be a version of the drummer plug or even session related (Like a corruption) or it could be that plugins version has issues... Im thinking more session related though
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-08-2013, 06:44 AM
bradch00 bradch00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lions Bay, Canada - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: 7/8 time signature

Must be something to do with the session. Created a new session, same parameters and imported the midi I tracked and used on the original, everything is fine.
H/W Buffer 128, Host Processors 7 (out of 8)
CPU Usage Limit 99%
Ignore Errors During Playback; Selected
Minimize Additional I/O Latency; Selected
Delay Compensation; None
Optimize for streaming content; Selected
__________________
Pro Tools 12, Studio One V3.x
iMac 27" 5k i7 4Ghz, 32GB RAM 1TB Flash (OS X 10.10.x)
OWC Thunderbay Mini (4TB SSD)
Interface: Antelope Audio Zen-Studio
Presonus Faderport & Faderport 8
Black Lion Sparrow Mk2 A/D, FMR-RNP-RNC, MIDI Xpress 128
BM5A, KRK VXT4, Equator D5
Macbook Pro 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD Audio(mobile rig)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-08-2013, 09:52 AM
jasonthurley's Avatar
jasonthurley jasonthurley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York NY
Posts: 1,451
Default Re: 7/8 time signature

Figured as much... Glad it is worked out!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why can't i set a 3/4 time signature? room51 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 01-06-2008 10:29 PM
how do you change the time signature? jordan_ellipsis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-11-2007 06:22 AM
Time signature change TLarvenz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 07-13-2006 12:13 PM
Time Signature Bug RIO Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-09-2000 06:29 AM
time signature Slypolk Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 07-22-1999 04:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com