Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-13-2007, 08:58 PM
beecherstudios beecherstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Default M-Audio 1814 loosing conection with my pc

I am at wits end with this issue. I have a HP 3ghz with 1 gig of ram and running xp pro. I have installed and uninstalled protools, the M- Audio drivers and so on. I will start my pc with the 1814 on and my computer will boot up. During that process the unit lights up and does its run throught with the lighting sequence. I will fire up protools and start to use it with the 1814. Then out of the blue the unit will stop communicating with protools. Or the sound will just dissapear. I can hear the little beep sound when you connect or dissconnect a firewire unit from the computer. Then I will see all the lights on the 1814 do its little start up lighting sequence again. It is so random when it does this. I have swaped out my firewire card which I might add I have never had any problem with any firewire harddrive, and it still does it. I bought the 1814 from musicians friend about 2 months ago but thought I was doing something wrong. Now I think that it really is the unit. Im just wondering if their is a fix for this problem. The unit was a refurb and I would love to know what was wrong with it to begin with.
I have spent more time messing around with this problem then making music.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2007, 09:13 PM
dillon99999 dillon99999 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 426
Default Re: M-Audio 1814 loosing conection with my pc

someone at digi mentioned that hp aren't really compatible with pro tools.

to get help, you need to download this software, and send the information that it generates.

it is possible that you have some weird chipset, or other issue that we cannot diagnose using the information that you have provided.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

- SiSoftware's Sandra Lite application can be used to post your full system profile:
www.sisoftware.net
Under SiSoftware Sandra, click on "Download & Buy" to download the free Sandra Lite version or purchase other versions.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-13-2007, 09:18 PM
beecherstudios beecherstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: M-Audio 1814 loosing conection with my pc

I have a friend that has a similar HP he got last year and has been using his 002 PT system flawlessly for that time.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-13-2007, 09:21 PM
beecherstudios beecherstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: M-Audio 1814 loosing conection with my pc

Here are my system specs that you asked for

System
Host Name : BEECHERSTUDIOS
User : PROTOOLS
Workgroup : WORKGROUP

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz
Speed : 3.00GHz
Performance Rating : PR3750 (estimated)
Cores per Processor : 1 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 2 Unit(s)
Internal Data Cache : 8kB Synchronous, Write-Thru, 4-way set, 64 byte line size, 2 lines per sector
L2 On-board Cache : 512kB ECC Synchronous, ATC, 8-way set, 64 byte line size, 2 lines per sector

Mainboard
Bus(es) : ISA X-Bus AGP PCI IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
MP Support : 1 Processor(s)
MP APIC : Yes
System BIOS : American Megatrends Inc. 3.28
System : HP Pavilion 061 DQ109A-ABA A375C
Mainboard : ASUSTeK Computer INC. Yale
Total Memory : 1GB DDR-SDRAM

Chipset 1
Model : ASUSTeK Computer Inc 82865G/PE/P, 82848P DRAM Controller / Host-Hub Interface
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 200MHz (800MHz data rate)
Total Memory : 1GB DDR-SDRAM
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 133MHz (266MHz data rate)

Video System
Desktop Monitors/Panels : 2
Monitor/Panel : Dell M991
Monitor/Panel : Hitachi CM751
Adapter : Radeon X1600 Series
Adapter : Radeon X1600 Series Secondary

Physical Storage Devices
Removable Drive : Floppy disk drive
Hard Disk : Maxtor 6Y080P0 (76GB)
Hard Disk : ST3160021A (149GB)
Hard Disk : Generic USB CF Reader USB Device
Hard Disk : Generic USB MS Reader USB Device
Hard Disk : Generic USB SD Reader USB Device
Hard Disk : Generic USB SM Reader USB Device
CD-ROM/DVD : HP DVD Writer 300n (CD 40X Rd, 16X Wr) (DVD 5X Rd)
CD-ROM/DVD : IDE-DVD ROM 16x (CD 16X Rd) (DVD 2X Rd)
CD-ROM/DVD : NERO IMAGEDRIVE2 SCSI CdRom Device (CD 32X Rd) (DVD 4X Rd)

Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (C:) : 128GB (1.5GB, 1% Free Space) (NTFS)
D: DRIVE (D:) : 76GB (1.4GB, 2% Free Space) (NTFS)
CD-ROM/DVD (J:) : N/A
MILAR_DISK_TWO (K:) : 3.1GB (UDF)
CD-ROM/DVD (L:) : N/A
3.5" 1.44MB (A:) : N/A
Removable Drive (F:) : N/A
Removable Drive (G:) : N/A
Removable Drive (H:) : N/A
Removable Drive (I:) : N/A

Peripherals
Serial/Parallel Port(s) : 1 COM / 2 LPT
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) 82801EB USB Universal Host Controller - 24D2
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) 82801EB USB Universal Host Controller - 24D4
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) 82801EB USB Universal Host Controller - 24D7
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) 82801EB USB2 Enhanced Host Controller - 24DD
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) 82801EB USB Universal Host Controller - 24DE
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Composite Device
USB Controller/Hub : USB Mass Storage Device
FireWire/1394 Controller/Hub : Texas Instruments OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller/Hub : OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller
Keyboard : HID Keyboard Device
Mouse : HID-compliant mouse
Human Interface : HID-compliant consumer control device
Human Interface : HID-compliant device
Human Interface : HID-compliant device
Human Interface : USB Human Interface Device
Human Interface : USB Human Interface Device

MultiMedia Device(s)
Device : Realtek AC'97 Audio

Printers and Faxes
Model : Intuit Internal Printer
Model : HP LaserJet 4L/4ML PostScript

Power Management
AC Line Status : On-Line

Operating System(s)
Windows System : Microsoft Windows XP/2002 Professional 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 2)

Network Services
Adapter : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC

Performance Tips
Tip 2546 : Large memory modules should be ECC/Parity.
Notice 5901 : CD 1x= 150kB/s; Exercise caution when comparing measured versus published ratings.
Notice 5902 : DVD 1x= 11.08Mbps Exercise caution when comparing measured versus published ratings.
Tip 2 : Double-click tip or press Enter while a tip is selected for more information about the tip.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-13-2007, 09:35 PM
dillon99999 dillon99999 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 426
Default Re: M-Audio 1814 loosing conection with my pc

you did not mention what version of pro tools.
and having a "friend" that has a "similar" HP doesn't mean it's the same computer.
in fact, it being "similar" doesn't change the fact that some HP's are simply not compatible.
his might be compatible, and your "similar" one isn't.
now, if it is the "same" computer model, etc., then yeah, i would be inclined to think that you have a valid point.
i think you get where i'm going here.
you will have to wait for someone at digi to determine that.
have you tried disabling printer, serial, network, etc.?
why does it show a realtek sound card?
it's best to disable everything that is not related to pro tools / 1814 components until you can figure out what could be in conflict with the 1814.
i would even disable the usb if you can get by without it during the diagnosis phase of figuring this out.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-13-2007, 09:54 PM
beecherstudios beecherstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: M-Audio 1814 loosing conection with my pc

Sorry I am using protools 7.1 Mpowered for protools. I have been using protools with a digi001 for 2 years on this computer version 6.4 with no real problems to speak of. I wanted to step into the 21 century with pt7.1 and a new firewire based 96k protools unit. I can't even get the 96k to work. I try and the whole thing freezes up on me. if I stick with 48k I seem to be ok for a little while until 1814 disconnects from my computer. I also use the new Avid Media Composer software on this computer with no problems. I removed it so there woundnt be any DAE sharing issues.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-13-2007, 10:03 PM
dillon99999 dillon99999 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 426
Default Re: M-Audio 1814 loosing conection with my pc

what about using it @ 44.1Khz

have you tried that?

i used an 1814 with both 48Khz and 44.1Khz, successfully, - never @ 96Khz though.

but i'm not using an HP either - i have an ASRock 775/XFire Sata+ with Pentium Dual 2.66.

it is very different from your HP.

so i won't be of much help as far as that.

what about 7.1cs10?

did you download and install that?

are your m-audio 1814 drivers the latest (from their website)?

in case you didn't know - compatibility info can be found here:
http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...5&itemid=23395

FireWire Connections

A 1394 ("FireWire") controller/interface is required to connect an M-Audio FireWire interface to your computer. Some computers have built-in 1394/FireWire controllers, while other computers require an add-in 1394/FireWire controller card (purchased separately)

Some built-in 1394/FireWire ports may be incompatible with Pro Tools. if you experience FireWire-related issues or errors when using the built-in 1394/FireWire ports on your computer, Digidesign recommends installing a Digidesign-Qualified 1394/FireWire card.

The following PCI FireWire/1394 Controller PCI cards have been qualified by Digidesign for use with FireWire hard drives and M-Audio FireWire peripherals with Pro Tools M-Powered software:

ADS PYRO PCI 64
- Part Number: API-311
- Bus type: 64-bit PCI

SIIG 1394 3-port PCI i/e
- Part Number: NN-440012
- Model Number: NN2608
- Bus type: 32-bit PCI
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Loosing TEMPLATE setting when "importing audio" KJVMBird 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-26-2007 09:18 PM
Loosing audio after 20 sec Please Help miker2001 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-25-2003 05:57 PM
Loosing audio tracks from sessions ChrisO 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 02-23-2002 07:26 AM
Loosing audio monitoring frequently... Marso 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 12-04-2001 12:27 AM
loosing audio from edit window need help now thanks ALAN MCKNIGHT 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-30-2000 10:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com