Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Digidesign Hardware & Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-25-2019, 10:41 AM
justinhill justinhill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Horley UK
Posts: 85
Default Command 8 faders dead

It's a long shot but maybe somebody knows what this might be...

I bought a 'for parts' Command 8 which had a burnt-out transformer. Having replaced the transformer and confirmed both 12v AC connections were reaching the unit, I powered up and the unit came to life looking good.

But, none of the the faders work. They don't move and their values don't change either (i.e. if I move a fader in fader test mode the value displayed stays at zero). Every other button and switch appears to be working, the display is working, and the unit pairs with Pro Tools perfectly.

Before I start stripping the thing down I'm wondering if there is a common area between the motors and the encoders parts of the faders which anyone is already aware of and could advise me on?
__________________
--
Justin

Mix room: Apple Mac Pro 6,1 late 2013 2.7Ghz 12-Core XeonE5, 64GB RAM, D300 Graphics, OSX Mojave 10.14.5/Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6/Presonus Quantum 4848 Thunderbolt 2/Digidesign Command|8/Allen & Heath ZED-436 for fun

Studio: Apple Mac Pro 5,1 mid 2012 2x 3.46Ghz 6-Core Xeon, 64GB RAM, GeForce GTX 970 graphics, OSX Sierra 10.12.6/Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12/HDX1/Avid HD 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x8/Custom Raindirk Symphony 32ch. front end
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-21-2019, 10:09 AM
makinworks makinworks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 7
Default Re: Command 8 faders dead

Its a midi controller via usb
So the oairing is nor just to protools but as a controller and you have to setup lock synchronization...depending upon software
So if the autimation is workng then try opening an older project ir template and add eight travks once its paired to an actual track it shoukd show numbers....also command 8 is onlyba controller so its only going to respind to midi data

That was why i got tge baby HUI by mackie instead
But i read all about the command8
Hope this helps


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dead Faders on Control 24 :( Help Please!! RobeEQD ICON & C|24 2 06-08-2012 11:11 PM
Dead Faders engininja Artist Series 3 02-14-2012 10:01 PM
All Faders Dead......? BaileyBass ICON & C|24 3 03-20-2011 09:10 AM
003 Faders are dead ostrange 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 02-10-2008 07:19 PM
dead faders during sessions seehear ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 1 06-26-2001 07:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com