Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 11-02-2009, 10:23 AM

Default High-pitched whine with recording? / Suggestions on how to improve setup?

Hi there,

I had a question about system setup, and would greatly appreciate any advice. I am pretty new to this ...

So my end goal is to be able to broadcast audio live via UStream. Currently I have an AT4033 (medium-diaphragm condenser mic) feeding into an Mbox. I have that hooked up to my laptop via USB. While my laptop lists the MBox as an audio option in the control panel, UStream does not recognize it (it only lists my onboard SigmaTel as an option for audio).

I've been fiddling with it, and the only way I've been able to get it to work is to buy a 1/4" to 1/8" cable from Radioshack, plug the 1/4" into the MBox headphone output, and the 1/8" into the microphone input on the SigmaTel.

This seems kind of dumb to me (I don't exactly understand how the systems work, but I would guess the signal gets processed via the MBox and then outputs analog, and then the SigmaTel re-processes it ... so it is ultimately my onboard audio determining what it sounds like).

Anyway -- my output this way is not very high-quality, and I would tremendously appreciate any suggestions on how to improve it.

Here are some specific questions I have:

1) I specifically have this high-pitched whine in the background that bothers the heck out of me. At first I thought it was the mic picking up my laptop fans, but the noise-level is the same regardless of where I position my laptop relative to the mic (or how far away I put it). So it makes me wonder if it has to do with something else? Does anyone have experience or advice regarding this?