Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-01-2010, 09:26 PM
oreo1 oreo1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 183
Default micro and ilok don't fit macbook

The micro is a great idea, but who ever designed it, clearly didn't consider how we editors would be using the thing in a laptop. My macbook has the standard spacing between its two USB inputs. Because the micro is wider than the usual USB devices, it leaves no space beside it, to plug in the ilok into the second USB jack. The result is that none of my expensive plugins are accessible while using the micro.

I tried connecting both devices tonight, using a USB hub, but got the Protools 8 response that it couldn't find the micro. So i am presuming that the Micro HAS TO be plugged directly into a USB slot on the computer. Is that true?

Hey Digidesign, do your engineers read these posts? If so, please redesign the Micro, so the USB connector is offset either to the right or left, but not built smack into the middle. It would be much more useful and elegant if we could plug in both the micro and the ilok side by side. As it is, it's onlyhalf as useful as it could be with a little redesign.

Is anyone out there getting these two devices to work together from a USB hub? If so, what is your hub? Or any other solution is much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-01-2010, 09:49 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,813
Default Re: micro and ilok don't fit macbook

The Mbox2Micro was designed to be used with the short USB extension cable that it shipped with so it doesn't take any more room on the USB port than a typical USB cable for a printer or scanner. It is highly recommended to use this cable to avoid damaging your Mbox2Micro or even worse your Macbook/Macbook Pro if it were to get bumped. If you've misplaced your cable, you can buy one at most computer stores. The ILok also should be used with a similar USB cable to avoid this type of damage. If I remember correctly, the Mbox2Micro should not go through a USB hub but the iLok can.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.4 running Protools 2020.5.0
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-02-2010, 09:46 AM
oreo1 oreo1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 183
Default Re: micro and ilok don't fit macbook

Many thanks for the tip, Dragon. i had totally forgotten about that.

I've been using the micro plugged directly into the USB with no problem for a bout a year,. Then 2 weeks ago I suddenly had a dire need for the ilok to use Strike.

I just found the old cable. It lets Protools load, which is the main point. I wish the cable was 6 inches long instead of 3 feet, but maybe I'll find a shorter one by shopping around.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-02-2010, 11:25 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,813
Default Re: micro and ilok don't fit macbook

Hmm. The one that came with my Mbox2Micro is only about 6 inches long like you want. I guess they shipped with whatever was available at the parts bin at the time. It is still an obtrusive thing sticking out of the notebook so you might just use a twisty tie or zip tie to bunch it up and shorten it. I wish the iLok was as small as those bluetooth adapters or wireless mouse adapter on PC's instead of three inches long and shaped like a rediculous plastic toy key.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.4 running Protools 2020.5.0
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-02-2010, 12:39 PM
@ndy's Avatar
@ndy @ndy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 368
Default Re: micro and ilok don't fit macbook

Quote:
Originally Posted by oreo1 View Post
I wish the cable was 6 inches long instead of 3 feet
I'm feeling some "cable envy", mine came with only a 6 inch extender!
__________________
2012 Mac Mini i7 2.6Ghz, 16GB RAM, 250GB SSD, OS 10.8.4, 003R, PT10.3.4, Midi I/O and late 08 15" Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, OS 10.8.4, Mbox2, PT10.3.4
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-02-2010, 02:48 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,813
Talking Re: micro and ilok don't fit macbook

Quote:
Originally Posted by @ndy View Post
i'm feeling some "cable envy", mine came with only a 6 inch extender! :d:d
lmao!
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.4 running Protools 2020.5.0
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-02-2010, 07:38 PM
StudioDTA StudioDTA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 29
Default Re: micro and ilok don't fit macbook

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsidian Dragon View Post
lmao!
something tells me someone is embellishing their length anyways guys so dont sweat it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-02-2010, 07:43 PM
Chief Pronto Chief Pronto is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 216
Default Re: micro and ilok don't fit macbook

Instead of the cable, why don't you get one of those USB twisting adapter thingies? I have no idea what they're actually called, but they're super useful. See link.

http://www.lindy.co.uk/lindyshop/pictures/70339big.jpg
__________________
Lenovo T61 T9300 Core 2 Duo 2.5ghz
4GB DDR2
2 1TB FreeAgent Xtreme External Drives
SIIG FireWire Express Card
Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Pro Tools 8.0.4 LE
Digi003 Rack || PreSonus D8 || ART MPA Gold || ART PRO VLA II || Ensoniq DP/2
M-Audio Axiom 49 || Behringer BCF2000
Yamaha HS50Ms

Bands: Captain Starr || stereoINs
Drums: 1 || 2 || 3
Guitars: 1 || 2 || 3
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-03-2010, 01:13 PM
systemexclusive systemexclusive is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Kiev, UA
Posts: 169
Default Re: micro and ilok don't fit macbook

Using MBox2 Micro via D-Link (NOT bus powered) USB-Hub together with iLok - No any issues...
__________________
macpro 2.6ghz, 4gb ram, osx 10.6.1, macbookpro 2.5ghz, 4gb ram, osx 10.5.8
mbox2pro, mbox2micro, emu1616, protools8le, reaper, logic express, axiompro49, padkontrol, rode nt2-a, lexicon mx300, uad2laptop
r3, microQ, Albino3, impOSCar, Structure
m1active 520 & sub gw s750, deq230, cx2310
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-03-2010, 01:24 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: micro and ilok don't fit macbook

Quote:
Originally Posted by systemexclusive View Post
Using MBox2 Micro via D-Link (NOT bus powered) USB-Hub together with iLok - No any issues...
You are very very lucky then. I wouldn't even attempt to pass audio through a USB hub. Now, since you can't do any recording via Micro... I spose it's less of a deal than running any other MBox, but I still wouldn't recommend doing that. Of course, my MBP has USB ports on opposite sides of the machine, but I find the one next to the power supply is far too close for many things to plug in comfortably. I use a 4" bendy extender for many things, and there are sooooo many options for extenders that won't interrupt datastream available online. Ebay is a great place to start.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MBox 2 Micro works on PC but not recognized on my Macbook Pro electrodaddy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-07-2011 12:53 AM
How to get my Mbox 2 Micro to work with Macbook runnign 10.6.6 Flitcraft 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-08-2011 05:17 PM
003 Console, 7.4.2, Macbook Pro, can I use an Mbox2 Micro remotely? 3lbMike 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 09-18-2008 01:20 PM
Micro and MacBook... No love Frankentele 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-29-2008 02:17 PM
Mbox 2 Micro playing through Macbook / Pro speakers. jerry9 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-10-2007 07:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com