Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-13-2006, 04:21 PM
Namaste Namaste is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 123
Default This is making me crazy! Please help!

This is making me crazy! When I push play or record on the transport, the system intermittently does not play but instead pauses. In other words, I press play, the triangle lights up, the system looks for an instant like it might play, but it then says "pause" in the status indicator in the lower left hand corner and the thing in fact does not play. Intermittently, though, it will in fact play -- I just have to keep hitting it over, and over and over again, and I never know when it will play and when it will not. (It has the same problem whether I click with the mouse or hit the space bar.)

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Joseph
__________________
Namaste (Sanskrit)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-13-2006, 04:28 PM
BFrederick BFrederick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 78
Default Re: This is making me crazy! Please help!

I've encountered something like this with a very miniscule amount of timeline having been accidentally selected (enough that the triangles look like they are on top of each other and you don't see a selection). That makes Pro Tools only play a tiny blip of audio. Does clicking in the timeline or otherwise changing the transport position help? Is the status bar showing a start and stop time?
__________________
BRENT FREDERICK
Musical Director, Arranger, Pianist
PT10, MOTU Audio Express, 10.7.2
http://www.BrentFrederickMusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-13-2006, 05:05 PM
Namaste Namaste is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 123
Default Re: This is making me crazy! Please help!

I checked carefully and no small piece of timeline is selected. I clicked in the timeline and also tried changing the transport position but I get the same result. Could it be some playback engine setting or buffer or something?
__________________
Namaste (Sanskrit)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-13-2006, 05:15 PM
Hype Hype is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 228
Default Re: This is making me crazy! Please help!

Expand the Transport MIDI controls window and make sure the "2 Bar count off" is not selected.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-13-2006, 06:25 PM
BFrederick BFrederick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 78
Default Re: This is making me crazy! Please help!

Is your transport sync set to protools (bottom left of transport window) - are you using an external sync peripheral that protools is waiting on (possibly mistakenly).
Are the values for pre-roll set to zero in the transport window?
__________________
BRENT FREDERICK
Musical Director, Arranger, Pianist
PT10, MOTU Audio Express, 10.7.2
http://www.BrentFrederickMusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-18-2006, 05:54 AM
Namaste Namaste is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 123
Default Re: This is making me crazy! Please help!

None of these problems were the issue. But the problem resolved when i reduced CPU usage from 85% to 80%.

Joseph
__________________
Namaste (Sanskrit)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automation Follows Edit making me crazy KMcK macOS 3 05-19-2020 02:09 PM
DAE error 9073 is making me crazy gentilcopain 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 05-26-2010 07:14 AM
MIDI Drums are making me crazy asiabackpacker MIDI 4 06-02-2009 08:17 AM
MIDI Drums are making me crazy asiabackpacker MIDI 27 12-19-2008 04:57 AM
THIS PROBLEM IS MAKING ME CRAZY! HELP samfarhi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 09-27-2006 02:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com