Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | S3

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-11-2017, 12:09 PM
Tim R. Tim R. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,032
Default S3 and Dante Virtual Sound card?

Wondering if S3/Eucon will work through a USB3 Gig E adaptor? I have the Apple TB to Ethernet adaptor as well, but I'm hoping to potentially use THAT port for Dante virtual sound card. My thought is a mobile recording rig with DANTE inputs that can do a mix with the S3 simultaneously. My other option is another TB to Ethernet (Since the MBP has 2 TB ports) but wasn't sure if that would overburden the TB bus. Any thoughts?
__________________
Tim Reisig
System 1: Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.7.0, HD Native TB, HD OMNI, S3/Artist Transport/Eucon 18.3.0.244, Rosetta 800 w/XHD card
Mac OS 10.12.6, 2012 Mac Mini 2.5Ghz i5, 16Gig RAM

System 2: Pro Tools 2018.4 (no Hardware), Mac OS 10.12.2, MBP (Retina 13in, Early 2015, 3.1Ghz i7, 16Gig RAM)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-11-2017, 05:42 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 1,632
Default Re: S3 and Dante Virtual Sound card?

The S3 is AVB not Dante. You should be able to use AVB on the Mac though.

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...m-requirements

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wsro8hliXbM
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-11-2017, 06:05 PM
hugolarin hugolarin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 26
Default S3 and Dante Virtual Sound card?

The USB3 Ethernet adapter sold by Apple (Belkin?) is actually not AVB compliant. You can do USB3 to TB and use the TB to Ethernet from Apple that is AVB compliant no problem. Well or just TB straight.... Watch out with High Sierra and AVB .. Safer zone is El Capitain. potentially Sierra

Actually if you just want to use the Eucon part (control only) any Ethernet adapter should do no problem

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dante Virtual Soundcard Mike Dy Digidesign Hardware & Software 12 08-21-2018 05:55 PM
Anyone using Dante Virtual Soundcard? Rockman413 Pro Tools 12 16 11-10-2017 05:26 AM
No Sound w/ Dante Virtual Soundcard bd0319 Third Party Interfaces 11 04-18-2017 04:31 AM
Dante virtual sound card and PT Frank Kruse Post - Surround - Video 8 03-22-2016 02:57 AM
Protools 11HD/Native and the Yamaha Dante Accelerator Card JCBigler Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 23 06-25-2014 01:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com