Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | Intro Discussion

Old 05-04-2018, 03:22 AM

Default Cannot open a a project

Hi
I'm new to ProTools (First). I already use Reaper with no problems.

I installed this 2 days ago and I have not so far been able to open any project in Pro Tools. So for me it is unusable. I am temped to call it quits and delte it. However, I would like to learn ProTools and had planned to perhaps take a subscription ultimately.

I think the problem may be that I use SonarWorks Profiler which can confuse in terms of its Audio Inputs and outputs and that of the sound card. Hewre's what happens.
1. I go to the dashboard and create a new project
2. The project starts to be created and then 3 boxes come up with messages
Old 05-04-2018, 03:59 AM

Default Cannot open a a project

Hi,

Please could someone advise? I have just installed ProTools First on my PC running Win 64 OS.

I have not yet even been able to open a new project. I had planned to learn ProTools and maybe take out a sub, but it is currently unusable for me.

My audio device is an external Fireface 800 unit, and I also have SonarWorks headphones profiler (which may be a problem as it uses its own audio driver in Windows I think). I also use currently have Reaper running on the same PC without any issues.

What happens when I try to open or create a project is:

1. A box comes up saying some audio inputs have become inactive because the hardware device has changed (it hasn't) - but even if there was a problem I can't do much with PT's own audio settings to correct the problem (that I know of anyway) - and what it says looks right (Analog 1/2)

the log says:
Comments

Some inputs or outputs may have become inactive because your

audio hardware device has changed.