Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #71  
Old 03-28-2012, 08:18 AM
xy44 xy44 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: london UK
Posts: 144
Default Re: Avid Madness

to be honest.. I brought PT10 A long time ago. way before I got elvenrack. - its the free version pf PT that comes shipped with it.. and you dont need to install it or do anything, as you already have 9.. - you cant seriosuly expect to get a free full version 10 becasue you brought elven rack.. your buying hardware and not software.. they supply the PTLE with it so you can control the software editor if you so wish.. but not required really.

And seriosuly.. why would they sell it without the software.. seems like you gotta get of your high horse and start to realise that avid is a buiness and not your personal software house.
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 03-28-2012, 08:41 AM
lspaulsp lspaulsp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Texas City, Tx
Posts: 98
Default Re: OK, so here's a serious question for Avid regarding "openness"...

You're not supplying it to me "FOR FREE". I bought an 11R when they first came out. Been using it for years. If it's free MAX, then it's free. My "8.whatever" still works and I haven't purchased the upgrade, I keep reading about nightmares.
But it's NOT free and the longer I wait the more upgrading seems to cost.

Please, the people here seem to have a brain so don't treat us like we don't and don't tow the company rhetoric. Normally, nothing here is free!
If a copy of 7.? was "free" with the "interface" the the copy of 10.? should be a small free investment to keep people happy. I don't always want something for nothing, even 10 for a reasonable upgrade fee would be great.
With profiling tech what it is update amps and cabs should be free!

Just my thoughts, lspaulsp (Rick)
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 03-28-2012, 08:47 AM
Deny Deny is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Posts: 169
Default Re: OK, so here's a serious question for Avid regarding "openness"...

@dream5695: I know this is less than ideal, but what if you purchased the 11R with the bundled PT9/10 and sold your current license since you won't be needing two of them? Just a thought, that's what I would probably do anyway.
__________________
Deny
My SoundClick Page
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 03-28-2012, 09:23 AM
Max Gutnik Max Gutnik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 168
Default Re: OK, so here's a serious question for Avid regarding "openness"...

Quote:
Originally Posted by lspaulsp View Post
You're not supplying it to me "FOR FREE". I bought an 11R when they first came out. Been using it for years. If it's free MAX, then it's free. My "8.whatever" still works and I haven't purchased the upgrade, I keep reading about nightmares.
But it's NOT free and the longer I wait the more upgrading seems to cost.

Please, the people here seem to have a brain so don't treat us like we don't and don't tow the company rhetoric. Normally, nothing here is free!
If a copy of 7.? was "free" with the "interface" the the copy of 10.? should be a small free investment to keep people happy. I don't always want something for nothing, even 10 for a reasonable upgrade fee would be great.
With profiling tech what it is update amps and cabs should be free!

Just my thoughts, lspaulsp (Rick)
Again, Eleven Rack lists for $1250 US and sells for around $899. With or without Pro Tools software, this would be the price. Pro Tools 10 is $699, yet the price of Eleven Rack, including the ERXP is the same as when it came with Pro Tools 8 LE and no ERXP.

Mbox Mini was $299 without Pro Tools Express. We now include Pro Tools Express with every new Mbox Mini. The price is still $299.

Hopefully that clears it up.
__________________
Max Gutnik
Sr. Director, Audio Product Management
Avid www.avid.com
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 03-28-2012, 09:59 AM
richpjr richpjr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 110
Default Re: OK, so here's a serious question for Avid regarding "openness"...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Max Gutnik View Post
Again, Eleven Rack lists for $1250 US and sells for around $899. With or without Pro Tools software, this would be the price. Pro Tools 10 is $699, yet the price of Eleven Rack, including the ERXP is the same as when it came with Pro Tools 8 LE and no ERXP.

Mbox Mini was $299 without Pro Tools Express. We now include Pro Tools Express with every new Mbox Mini. The price is still $299.

Hopefully that clears it up.
You are kind of making our point for us. If the "value" in the 11R is the hardware and the software is "free", why do we have to pay $500 to upgrade? :)
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 03-28-2012, 10:20 AM
Max Gutnik Max Gutnik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by richpjr View Post
You are kind of making our point for us. If the "value" in the 11R is the hardware and the software is "free", why do we have to pay $500 to upgrade? :)
I think you're looking at it backwards. If Pro Tools didn't come with Eleven Rack, you would have to pay $699 more for Pro Tools. Instead, we include it and subsidize the software cost with the hardware, which, by the way, Avid and Digidesign have been doing forever.

That does not mean the upgrade to a new version of software has less value, it means your way into to the system is advantaged, price-wise.
__________________
Max Gutnik
Sr. Director, Audio Product Management
Avid www.avid.com
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 03-28-2012, 10:26 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,184
Default Re: OK, so here's a serious question for Avid regarding "openness"...

I don't know if everyone has only used Pro Tools around here, but upgrading at a cost is the norm with most products. I can't tell you how many devices come with either Cubase LE or Studio One Light. If either one comes out with a new version, you have to pay. If you want the full version, you have to pay.

Also, where does the $500 come from? I jest checked Sweetwater and they show PT9 -> 10 $299 and PT8 -> 10 $399
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 03-28-2012, 10:31 AM
Max Gutnik Max Gutnik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by junkgear View Post
I don't know if everyone has only used Pro Tools around here, but upgrading at a cost is the norm with most products. I can't tell you how many devices come with either Cubase LE or Studio One Light. If either one comes out with a new version, you have to pay. If you want the full version, you have to pay.

Also, where does the $500 come from? I jest checked Sweetwater and they show PT9 -> 10 $299 and PT8 -> 10 $399
Correct.
__________________
Max Gutnik
Sr. Director, Audio Product Management
Avid www.avid.com
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 03-28-2012, 10:41 AM
Webb Webb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Philly, PA
Posts: 77
Default Re: Avid Madness

Maybe look at the secondhand market. Used Eleven Racks pop up all the time for very little dough.
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 03-28-2012, 11:59 AM
richpjr richpjr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 110
Default Re: OK, so here's a serious question for Avid regarding "openness"...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Max Gutnik View Post
I think you're looking at it backwards. If Pro Tools didn't come with Eleven Rack, you would have to pay $699 more for Pro Tools. Instead, we include it and subsidize the software cost with the hardware, which, by the way, Avid and Digidesign have been doing forever.

That does not mean the upgrade to a new version of software has less value, it means your way into to the system is advantaged, price-wise.
I think you missed the smiley at the end of my post.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does "Westmere" qualification apply to "Bloomfield" and "Gulftown" also? bashville Pro Tools 10 5 03-23-2013 03:04 PM
hardware buttons for "preview", "capture" and "punch" evs Post - Surround - Video 1 12-06-2010 12:28 PM
A "Yes" guitar tone question, from "Fragile" Sabe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 15 01-06-2003 07:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com