Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-22-2006, 08:18 PM
fmbighair fmbighair is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 31
Default external hard drive set up with Pro Tools

I just purchased an external Seagate 300 GB USB 2.0/Firewire drive for my Apple Powerbook G4 w/40GB HD laptop. I have MAC OS 10.2.8.

I am about to hook up this hard drive and wondering if I should go Firewire which is rated at 400 Mbits/sec or USB 2.0 which is rated at 480 Mbits/sec? I would think USB 2.0 would be better because of the 80 Mbits/sec but the hard drive manual states that, "BounceBack Express" does not support the pushbutton backup feature for a Mac OS that is using a USB interface?

I am also planning on leaving the application files on my internal HD and the Pro Tools session files my external. Should I do this with my other multimedia programs as well?....iPhoto, iMovie, iDVD, etc....?

Also wondering if I should partition the external drive when i set it up because it's so big?

any advice would be appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-23-2006, 07:57 AM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,200
Default Re: external hard drive set up with Pro Tools

I think the 480mbps with USB on a mac isnt strictly true. I've found firewire to be a lot faster than USB 2 despite the fact on paper it should be faster than firewire. Even things like USB 2 pen drives on a mac are painfully slow.

Also, i've always found keeping sessions on external drives far better than keeping them internal, especially when using video editing apps.

Regards

PS: Partitioning an external drive will only help you when trying to organise your files, it has no benfit on performance.
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-23-2006, 03:26 PM
fmbighair fmbighair is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 31
Default Re: external hard drive set up with Pro Tools

Thanks Dougfather,
I think I'm gonna do the Firewire too.

The external hard drive manual says I have to use "Apple Disk Utility" using one of the Mac OS format types before using it w/my Mac. I couldn't find Disk Utility anywhere, so I did a search in Help and just clicked on "open Disk Utility for me." I clicked on the external hard drive I want to format. There's four tabs, Information, First Aid, Erase, Partition and RAID. I assume I just click on the one that says "erase" and choose "Mac OS extended" for the "Vollume Format?"

thanks again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools le 8 / External Hard-drive Mixer123 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 11-14-2010 11:37 AM
Pro Tools will not save on my external hard drive chfmtm Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 04-26-2008 10:54 AM
best external hard drive for pro tools? emersonrailroad Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 02-08-2008 03:58 PM
How to use an external hard drive with prot tools? sinnagod 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 08-29-2004 04:35 PM
Help with External Hard Drive for Pro Tools!!! Humbubinc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-07-2004 03:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com