Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-22-2004, 09:31 PM
fmbighair fmbighair is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 31
Default 12 inch powerbook screen too small....

Denes Pagan:

I wanted to ask your opinion about the 12 inch powerbook...I didn't realize until after I bought it how small the screen is. When I spoke to the customer service rep from Mac Mall, I asked him how they measure 12 inches so I can get an idea of how big it is; they said it's measured from left to right, NOT from left to right DIAGNALLY...which it really is....I went thru this big dispute with them only to find out that Apple does no have a return policy...I was very dissapointed, especially considering the fact that I paid almost $2000 for my machine...

I have had it for a while and this small screen is really starting to bug me....Do you also have a problem with the 12 inch screen?...just curious...any info would help, thanks...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-26-2004, 05:00 AM
Teef Teef is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Default Re: are Mac\'s slow on the net?

I own a G5, and i only have a 300kb connection, but it seems just as fast as my pc downstairs. The thing with macs are that there are only around 3ish viruses you can catch, so maybe thats why it runs slightly slower? I think anything over 300kb connection and you shouldnt realise that much difference, and even if you can, it shouldnt be painfully slow.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-27-2004, 10:17 AM
TXDigi TXDigi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Dallas & Miami
Posts: 203
Default Re: are Mac\'s slow on the net?

that whole story about pc's faster on the web is salesman BS!!!! Some browser app's are faster than others but the difference is minimal. Some have better graphics engines to display the downloaded images faster but ultimately the download speed is the big factor ofcourse.

I'm sitting here with a G4/1ghz laptop and a Brand new Dell Inspirion 1.6ghz P4. I have Explorer open on both machines and opened about a dozen web sites at the same time using the enter key

results.... Powerbook opened every single site much faster than the Dell. These machines are sharing the same internet connection. I didnt use Safari because it is notibably faster than Explorer.

just my unofficial test

__________________
HF


Computer: Mac Pro 2013, MBPro 2015
OS: OS Sierra 10.12.3
DAWs Pro Tools 12.7, Logic Pro X
Interface: HDX, Antelope ZenTour
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-27-2004, 10:42 AM
Rock_Artist Rock_Artist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Hertzliya
Posts: 1,482
Default Re: are Mac\'s slow on the net?

If you don't like the 12" there's nothing much to do.
I like smaller portables and even 14" is as far as I go (I prefer my 12" machine).

At office/home use your only option is to use external monitor...
__________________
Just wanna do music,
RA.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-27-2004, 12:58 PM
stewie stewie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: TAMPA/NJ
Posts: 355
Default Re: are Mac\'s slow on the net?

my ibook runs fine and the aiport card is awesome. it is fast and will pick up wireless networks that my brothers pc cant find. wierd.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new mac's? davidli 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-07-2006 05:12 PM
New Mac's Hot off the Press! RussUK 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 82 01-20-2006 06:39 PM
athlon 1.2 ghz for digi 001, 5.3.1? SLOW,SLOW,SLOW hitwriter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-19-2005 09:55 PM
New Mac's ronniemac4 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-01-2001 10:04 PM
Digi Webmaster - SLOW, SLOW, SLOW... lwilliam General Discussion 5 04-26-2000 12:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com