Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-23-2003, 05:48 AM
poldo poldo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: italy
Posts: 204
Default Dithering question about SmartCode Encoder Encoder

This is a technical question about Smart Code PRO Dolby Encoder, version 1.2
when I use the encoder in Pro Tools 5.3.1, as an Audiosuite Plugin, and I wish to encode 6 24 bit WAV files, does the plug in apply dithering in the encoding stage, via the standard Digidesign Audiosuite Dither, or the resultant AC3 file will be truncated to 16 bit?
The fact that Smart Encoder accept 24 bit input files could assure that the dither stage is embedded within the encoder?
Thanks
AJP
__________________
We always keep on trying
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-24-2003, 10:21 AM
kurt's Avatar
kurt kurt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Helsingborg - Sweden
Posts: 674
Default Re: Dithering question about SmartCode Encoder Encoder

Would like to know this to. I started with bouncig with dither to 16bits .wav but lately use to stay in 24 bits. [img]images/icons/frown.gif[/img]
__________________
MBP early 2011. Apple MacPro 5.1 12Core ”Westmere”. DeckLink HD Extreme 3D+. OS X10.10.5
PTN|10-11. PTN|HD|10-11-12. 16 x 16 HD I/O - 16 x 16 192 I/O Lots of gear.

http://www.mmvstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-29-2003, 03:13 AM
poldo poldo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: italy
Posts: 204
Default Re: Dithering question about SmartCode Encoder Encoder

thanks for intrest on my query...

But here's no one actually can explain this!

Anyonelse opinion?
__________________
We always keep on trying
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-29-2003, 11:32 PM
privateIQ privateIQ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 87
Default Re: Dithering question about SmartCode Encoder Encoder

Quote:
Originally posted by poldo:
This is a technical question about Smart Code PRO Dolby Encoder, version 1.2
when I use the encoder in Pro Tools 5.3.1, as an Audiosuite Plugin, and I wish to encode 6 24 bit WAV files, does the plug in apply dithering in the encoding stage, via the standard Digidesign Audiosuite Dither, or the resultant AC3 file will be truncated to 16 bit?
The fact that Smart Encoder accept 24 bit input files could assure that the dither stage is embedded within the encoder?
Thanks
AJP
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">An AC3 file is *not* audio. It's data that must be decoded. When I spoke to dolby many years ago, they actually had to look for the guy who knew the answer to this question (I went through several people). The answer is that the final compression data for 5.1 compressed files can easily be fit into 16 bits, so truncation is not an issue. If it were...you would hear BIZARRE audio whenever a data stream was squeezed into 16 bits.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-30-2003, 06:41 AM
Mikey MTC Mikey MTC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 551
Default Re: Dithering question about SmartCode Encoder Encoder

This is a moot point. The dithering in the Audiosuite process is on the resulting audio file. With the SCP stuff the resulting audio file is deleted by you once you've done the process (by either undoing the process or by manully deleting).

It's the resulting ac3 or dts file that you really want and that's not affected by Audiosuite dithering because it's not a product of the normal Audiosuite process.

Therefore, you can have the AS dithering preference set to whatever you want because it doesn't affect this specifc case.

(Most of that won't make sense to people who aren't familiar with the way the SCP plugs differ to normal Audiosuite plugs)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Encoder Assignment Question. teacherman ICON & C|24 1 01-23-2008 01:10 PM
D-Command Pan Encoder Question Reckless Erik ICON & C|24 3 05-31-2007 02:57 PM
Digi MP3 Encoder Question skyevox1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 05-28-2005 11:27 AM
Dithering question about Smart Code PRO Dolby Encoder poldo Post - Surround - Video 10 08-20-2003 03:35 AM
DIGI- MP3 Encoder... Question... Voxvendor 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-23-2002 01:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com