Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-29-2005, 10:50 AM
barden barden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 51
Default Re: User tips for D command & D control

Quote:
Hold the Latch button on the dedicated auto mode section and THEN push the auto button on the strips you want to put in latch while holding the latch button. Cool huh .....
Chris...

Thanks for this topic.

This is one that instantly bugged me on the D-Command (I am a ProControl guy, just test-driving the D-Command right now). I am doing what you are describing above (press and hold the desired mode in the dedicated auto mode section and then press the Auto button on the channel strip) but that is simply resulting in the channel rotating through the various modes available. i.e. if I start in Read mode, I just end up in Off mode.

Is there a firmware thing that I'm not aware of? (it updated to the latest / greatest when I first booted it).

Many thanks in advance!
Barden

PT 6.9.2
HD2
G5 Dual 2GHz
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-29-2005, 12:47 PM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,027
Default Re: User tips for D command & D control

hmmmm ....


6.9.2.66 fw for both D command & D control.

I just tried it on the D command and you're right ... it doesn't work. I'm not sure but I would think this is a bug, as it works on the D control. I can only get the dedicated auto buttons to work in combination with do to sel and do to all.
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-29-2005, 04:35 PM
barden barden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 51
Default Re: User tips for D command & D control

Well, thanks for at least confirming it for me...we'll see if the fine DigiFolk check in with us.

All the best
Barden
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-31-2005, 03:11 PM
Digi ETS Digi ETS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 90
Default Re: User tips for D command & D control

This feature will be added to D-Command personality in the next ProTools release.

KB
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-31-2005, 09:19 PM
uno1234 uno1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,459
Default Re: User tips for D command & D control

How about the OPTION to lock the "pan pots" on the DCommand to always switch together, so you don't have to hit "do to all" and "pan" to see all pan pots. Just like the pro control does it. Or even better, there should be a way to lock the pan controls to the lower or upper pots at (almost) all times.

Unless you can do this already....? I guess this might conflict for plugin editing on the pots...?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-01-2005, 02:25 AM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,027
Default Re: User tips for D command & D control

it's there .... pref setting called panbot ... (pan on bottom encoder) allways on or off. For most convenient switching you could even assign that pref to one of the user programmable softkeys if you like.


Chris
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-03-2005, 11:29 AM
uno1234 uno1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,459
Default Re: User tips for D command & D control

what about switching all controls together, like on the pro control? it's confusing for me to have every pot different on every channel.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-03-2005, 04:28 PM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,027
Default Re: User tips for D command & D control

Quote:
what about switching all controls together, like on the pro control? it's confusing for me to have every pot different on every channel.
Not sure what you mean there. There's a global channel strip (without fader) on the D control that let's you change what's on the pots on all strips and on D command it can be done with 'do to all' or to the selected strips with 'do to sel'
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-04-2005, 09:25 AM
uno1234 uno1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,459
Default Re: User tips for D command & D control

Yes, but then you have to hit 2 buttons instead of 1, every time you want to change views. Why does each channel strip have to change independently? Why can't it change to all pans if you hit the pan button on the global section? Just like on ProControl. I find it confusing to have every channel strip potentially in a different view.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-06-2005, 10:33 AM
GMitchell GMitchell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Montreal,Quebec,Canada
Posts: 31
Default Re: User tips for D command & D control

Excuse me for jumping in - great thread. As Chris suggests above you could use only the global switch - only 1 touch - and they all change (the corresponding bank side anyway)if you prefer keeping same status on all pots.
__________________
Geoff Mitchell

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New SC48 User - Tips on configuration justinphilip VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 10-29-2013 07:14 PM
New User - any tips or tricks Johnrg 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 03-18-2009 08:26 PM
Tips for old PT user, new ProControl user please? seanhupe ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 11 04-04-2006 09:42 PM
any tips for a new MAC user Soberphobia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-24-2003 08:33 AM
New HUI user-want to know tips & tricks Digital Sound Lab Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 12-14-2000 03:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:53 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com