Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-19-2004, 12:32 PM
John Lindeman John Lindeman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 8
Default mp3 option encoder issue

Hi,

I'm having a sound quality problem when using the mp3 option encoder on Protools LE 6.4 Mbox. I usually use a constant bit rate at 128 kbit/s, and the sound quality of the mp3 song tends to be worse if the 'slowest' encoding speed is chosen, as opposed to the 'fastest' speed (which is supposed to be of lower quality). When the slowest speed is chosen, the song can sound a little tangy or distorted, especially when in the full stereo range. Sometimes this doesn't happen, such as when a lot of midi instruments are being used (as opposed to mic'd guitars or vocals). Is the mp3 encoder sensitive to how a song is mixed? Is it a problem if multiple instruments are accented at roughly the same equalizer frequency levels? (or should I get a better mic?) I also use Apple's 'itunes' mp3 encoder, which seems to encode at about the same level of quality as using a fast encoding speed.

thanks,
John
__________________
Protools Mbox I
Reason 3.0 / Waves Native Power Pack / Amplitude 2 Live
MacBook Pro, 2.33 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2 GB SDRAM
Alexandria, VA
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-19-2004, 01:24 PM
Tito Ricci Arballo Tito Ricci Arballo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: here
Posts: 411
Default Re: mp3 option encoder issue

I bounce mp3's at 193 and slowest. I often get a little distortion on my snares. What is up w/ that? I just sais phuggit. it's mp3, it's gonna sound a little booty. Anybody know if this is normal?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PTLE8 MP3 Option Issue brianiac5150 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 05-25-2011 05:52 PM
New Install of PT 7.4.2 - MP3 Option Issue ChrisMitchell Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 05-10-2011 10:08 PM
Mp3 Export option issue; can anyone else test this? RBaker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-06-2008 08:28 AM
mp3 encoder keny Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 03-21-2006 10:14 PM
Dithering question about SmartCode Encoder Encoder poldo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 05-30-2003 07:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com