Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 11-22-2012, 01:32 AM
patsilvawpg patsilvawpg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 5
Default Re: Connecting C24, Digi 192 with outboard?

hi i was wondering if i could accomplish this without a patch bay by just plugging db25 to female xlr from my output of outboard pre amp to line input 1-8 or 1-16 ?or would that still be using the built in pre amps in the c24?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-23-2012, 06:45 AM
Lizardpoint Lizardpoint is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 262
Default Re: Connecting C24, Digi 192 with outboard?

Quote:
Originally Posted by patsilvawpg View Post
hi i was wondering if i could accomplish this without a patch bay by just plugging db25 to female xlr from my output of outboard pre amp to line input 1-8 or 1-16 ?or would that still be using the built in pre amps in the c24?
You don't need to use a patchbay unless your equipment and configuration is likely to change....

You can connect your mic pre's directly to your 192 then connect your 192 outs to your C24 then your amps/active monitors to the C24 and you have a working system.

Hope this helps

Lizardpoint
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-12-2018, 07:49 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,942
Default Re: Connecting C24, Digi 192 with outboard?

I'm reviving this thread hopefully some intelligent person can help me out with connecting up my c24

I have a 192 with 16 analog ins and 8 analog outs
I have a behringer patch bay
My main vocal Pre is a focusrite liquid channel.
Headphone amp is a behringer HA4700

I work in stereo.

With one db25 to jack cable is it possible to run my main outs (studio speakers) and then 3 seperate headphone outs into my HA4700 headphone amp. What i dont want to do is buy a DB25 to jack cable and only have the fist 2 outs being used and the other 6 redundant.

At the moment my outs of the 192 using a DB25 cable to XLR are as follows
1-2 Main studio speaker outs
3-4 Headphone out 1
5-6 Headphone out 2
7-8 Headphone out 3

Can this be done with the C24 and a 192 so i can use the monitor section of the C24 and still have 3 separate headphone outs going to the HA4700
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 07-12-2018, 10:18 AM
Lizardpoint Lizardpoint is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 262
Default Re: Connecting C24, Digi 192 with outboard?

Hi Raoul,
I'd do it this way - see diagram.
This way you can still use the main mix to cue, the bult in talkback into cue1 and the monitor section of the C24.
Hope that hlps.
Shout if you need more
Cheers
Lizardpoint
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Raoul C24.pdf (205.2 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 07-12-2018, 11:00 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,942
Default Re: Connecting C24, Digi 192 with outboard?

Thank you lizardpoint that’s a great diagram and has helped me loads. Will that allow me to have 3 different headphone mixes? According to the c24 manual 1 is left, 2 is Center, 3 is right etc so is there a way to pair 1 with 3 in ProTools

Also is there a way to connect my MacPro soundcard output so I can play YouTube/iTunes through my studio speakers
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 07-13-2018, 02:44 AM
Lizardpoint Lizardpoint is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 262
Default Re: Connecting C24, Digi 192 with outboard?

The way I have it in the diagram routes your headphone mix 1 on 192 outputs 3 & 4 (Not clear in my diagram - sorry. See updated diagram) routed via the C24 then back to your headphone amp.
This means you can use the C24 talkback mic and the main mix to cue buttons in the C24 monitor section.
Cue mixes 2 & 3 are completely independent of the C24 so you'll need to sort out a way of talking to the talent (Assuming they're in another space)
Cheers
Dave
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Raoul C24 take 2.pdf (207.7 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 07-13-2018, 03:18 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,942
Default Re: Connecting C24, Digi 192 with outboard?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lizardpoint View Post
The way I have it in the diagram routes your headphone mix 1 on 192 outputs 3 & 4 (Not clear in my diagram - sorry. See updated diagram) routed via the C24 then back to your headphone amp.
This means you can use the C24 talkback mic and the main mix to cue buttons in the C24 monitor section.
Cue mixes 2 & 3 are completely independent of the C24 so you'll need to sort out a way of talking to the talent (Assuming they're in another space)
Cheers
Dave
Thank you again Lizardpoint, you have made it so much easier to understand than the c24 manual.

Can i play my Mac audio eg youtube, itunes through my studio monitors and using the c24 monitor section, like i can with my command 8? I hit external source on my command 8 and i can hear itunes etc.
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 07-13-2018, 03:53 AM
Lizardpoint Lizardpoint is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 262
Default Re: Connecting C24, Digi 192 with outboard?

Quote:
Can i play my Mac audio eg youtube, itunes through my studio monitors and using the c24 monitor section, like i can with my command 8? I hit external source on my command 8 and i can hear itunes etc.
Yes you can but you'll have to buy another TRS to DB25 to allow you to access the external sources inputs on the C24.


Another way to do it would be to take an optical cable from your Mac pro and connect it to the optical in on your 192. you can then set it up in the coreaudio driver so it comes out of the outputs 1&3 when pro tools isnt running and you can listen to anything on your mac... Youtube, itunes etc.

Cheers
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 07-13-2018, 05:07 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,942
Default Re: Connecting C24, Digi 192 with outboard?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lizardpoint View Post
Yes you can but you'll have to buy another TRS to DB25 to allow you to access the external sources inputs on the C24.


Another way to do it would be to take an optical cable from your Mac pro and connect it to the optical in on your 192. you can then set it up in the coreaudio driver so it comes out of the outputs 1&3 when pro tools isnt running and you can listen to anything on your mac... Youtube, itunes etc.

Cheers
Dave
Thank you so much!!! Your help on this has been great, i was in 2 minds just to sell the damn c24 lol
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outboard reverb connecting to 003 WaddyP 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-09-2011 01:04 PM
connecting outboard to mbox??? Bob333 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 01-12-2006 05:30 AM
Outboard gear and connecting to 002 Doug May 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-06-2006 06:59 AM
Connecting outboard digitally BradG 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 10-24-2003 08:33 AM
connecting an outboard compressor jinglemaker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 06-17-2002 03:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com