Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-17-2019, 09:45 AM
jb_trm jb_trm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 46
Default MTRX Reference (Ref) Button in DADman Software

I've been looking through the DADman user guide, but can't seem to find specifics on the "Ref" button in any of the monitor channels.

The button sets the volume back to 0 dB and locks the fader. So, it seems that it is a reference lock function. However, has anyone figured out if there is a way to set that reference level to anything other than 0 dB?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-18-2019, 02:20 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,929
Default Re: MTRX Reference (Ref) Button in DADman Software

Quote:
Originally Posted by jb_trm View Post
I've been looking through the DADman user guide, but can't seem to find specifics on the "Ref" button in any of the monitor channels.

The button sets the volume back to 0 dB and locks the fader. So, it seems that it is a reference lock function. However, has anyone figured out if there is a way to set that reference level to anything other than 0 dB?
You can't.
Digital Audio Denmark don't seem to understand why that would be requested (I've asked.) It's rather silly you can set Talkback levels and Dims but you can't do anything to set a reference level.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-19-2019, 05:39 AM
jb_trm jb_trm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 46
Default Re: MTRX Reference (Ref) Button in DADman Software

That's a shame. It would be so easy to do, coding wise.

Sort of falls into the category of adding SPL calibration. I've just transitioned from a Yamaha MMP1 due to a specific need that the unit didn't provide. However, that is one slick feature they implemented.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-2019, 06:42 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,621
Default Re: MTRX Reference (Ref) Button in DADman Software

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
You can't.
Digital Audio Denmark don't seem to understand why that would be requested (I've asked.) It's rather silly you can set Talkback levels and Dims but you can't do anything to set a reference level.
Bizarre isn't it?
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-20-2019, 06:53 PM
jb_trm jb_trm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 46
Default Re: MTRX Reference (Ref) Button in DADman Software

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Breen View Post
Bizarre isn't it?

Not only that, but also dangerous. If someone calibrates their monitors or speakers with a lower volume setting in DADman, and some kid comes along going “Hey, I wonder what that Ref button does...”, it could spell disaster.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sum and Intercancel between MTRX DADman and S6 laki Pro Tools | S6 1 12-27-2017 04:18 PM
MTRX = new software recording 384k/DSD corp Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 09-09-2017 10:07 AM
Eucon Ver.3 software & Control Monitor button workinstiff Artist Series 2 09-07-2013 11:12 AM
Software monitoring button ? PMcC macOS 1 08-01-2012 07:18 AM
Looking for software/hardware reference material suggestions Jonny Jon Jon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-16-2010 06:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com