Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 02-27-2019, 02:02 AM
bartosz idzi bartosz idzi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 52
Default Re: Final Cut Pro X to Pro Tools

Okay, so here is what I learned.

The editor is using FCPX 10.4.5 on Mojave.
So what we do for the full 45 minute episode of this series is we first prepare the special edit for XML audio only export, removing all video and titles, etc...
like the guy here in the video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ypNttDDrDBs

Basically what he does he makes a copy of the original edit, then on that copy, he removes everything we do not need in audio post. It's important to unlink clips first so you do not lose audio and nothing gets moved in the 'magnetic' timeline. Also, make sure the editor is not using mixed frequency audio clips in the timeline (some 44100, some 48000)

Now here, is the important bit.

When editing in FCPx, talk with the editor to use AUDIO ROLES extensively. This is crucial, as you get track names from audio roles. So it makes it very easy for you to spot the DIA, FX, MUS, ATMOS, to your dedicated tracks when you import instead of having to listen thru
Audio1,Audio2, tracks and getting gray hair in the process.
The more detailed he gets with the roles, the better. He can assign roles to groups of clips at once, it's not very demanding on his time. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7pD07eSuW1Q)



Then, we use XtoCC software (http://intelligentassistance.com/xtocc.html)
on the XML to prepare the XML for Adobe Premiere CC 2019

Once it's in Premiere, the editor has to check if its all linked
if something got offline, and outputs an AAF. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yM2l...BWXslCjL5&t=27)

Settings for AAF output are:

Mixdown video : NO

Breakout to mono : ENABLE

24 bit, 48000,
Files : Separate Audio
Format : Broadcast Wave (this gets us metadata)
Copy complete audio files

This gets me the metadata in pro tools and i can use the field recorder workflow to replace all the audio i need.

Now, there has been some sync issue - the AAF at whole was about 1,5 frame off sync from the video master audio he sent me, but so far i have not run into bigger problems. Will update this as a get more experience.

Good luck!

Last edited by bartosz idzi; 02-27-2019 at 02:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-27-2019, 10:13 PM
V5V's Avatar
V5V V5V is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 542
Default Re: Final Cut Pro X to Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by bartosz idzi View Post
Okay, so here is what I learned.

The editor is using FCPX 10.4.5 on Mojave.
So what we do for the full 45 minute episode of this series is we first prepare the special edit for XML audio only export, removing all video and titles, etc...
like the guy here in the video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ypNttDDrDBs

Basically what he does he makes a copy of the original edit, then on that copy, he removes everything we do not need in audio post. It's important to unlink clips first so you do not lose audio and nothing gets moved in the 'magnetic' timeline. Also, make sure the editor is not using mixed frequency audio clips in the timeline (some 44100, some 48000)

Now here, is the important bit.

When editing in FCPx, talk with the editor to use AUDIO ROLES extensively. This is crucial, as you get track names from audio roles. So it makes it very easy for you to spot the DIA, FX, MUS, ATMOS, to your dedicated tracks when you import instead of having to listen thru
Audio1,Audio2, tracks and getting gray hair in the process.
The more detailed he gets with the roles, the better. He can assign roles to groups of clips at once, it's not very demanding on his time. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7pD07eSuW1Q)



Then, we use XtoCC software (http://intelligentassistance.com/xtocc.html)
on the XML to prepare the XML for Adobe Premiere CC 2019

Once it's in Premiere, the editor has to check if its all linked
if something got offline, and outputs an AAF. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yM2l...BWXslCjL5&t=27)

Settings for AAF output are:

Mixdown video : NO

Breakout to mono : ENABLE

24 bit, 48000,
Files : Separate Audio
Format : Broadcast Wave (this gets us metadata)
Copy complete audio files

This gets me the metadata in pro tools and i can use the field recorder workflow to replace all the audio i need.

Now, there has been some sync issue - the AAF at whole was about 1,5 frame off sync from the video master audio he sent me, but so far i have not run into bigger problems. Will update this as a get more experience.

Good luck!
This may explain why so many of my clients are just skipping Final Cut altogether and simply using Premiere.
__________________
Lorin Schultz
V5V Audio
Vancouver, BC Canada
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-28-2019, 09:52 AM
BillieWillie's Avatar
BillieWillie BillieWillie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: London
Posts: 8
Default Re: Final Cut Pro X to Pro Tools

Yeah, agree with you.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 03-19-2019, 02:26 AM
nucelar's Avatar
nucelar nucelar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 383
Default Re: Final Cut Pro X to Pro Tools

Hi, I'm in the same boat: (Editor is working on Final Cut Pro X and I will do the audio post in PT). But I really can't ask him to go through all these steps and even less make him buy a software. So, is it possible that he sends me the whole FCPX project on a hard drive so I can open it on my side and perform all audio juggling myself? Or would this be even more complicated? I imagine he would have to make sure all clips from all locations get included, like a "Save copy in" in Pro Tools...
Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 04-07-2019, 11:42 AM
peter5992 peter5992 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 469
Default Re: Final Cut Pro X to Pro Tools

There's also a program called AA Translator which translates audio and video NLE sessions into a different format, including from FCP to Pro Tools.

I've been using this for years, though not for FCP to PT but for PT to Reaper and vice versa, works well. What is does is convert the entire session lock stock and barrell, same number of tracks, all clips in place, etc.


https://www.aatranslator.com.au/
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 06-05-2019, 04:36 AM
michaelfbates michaelfbates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: London, UK
Posts: 41
Default Re: Final Cut Pro X to Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheesehead View Post
Ooops, I see this is a pretty old thread that has been revived.
Anyhow, interesting to know if any new workflow methods have come up in the meantime.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheesehead View Post
Hi Michael
My experience of working on 2 features coming from FCP and FCPX is that all metadata is stripped off the rushes in the import process to FCP.
So no field recorder workflow at all is possible, at least I could never get it to work.
Maybe you can get something with timecode only and Ediload, I don't own Ediload and wasn't prepared to buy it.
Also had problems with mixed sample rates and TC's which FCPX allows but is a complete minefield for any file transfer situation.
I may be doing another one shortly from FCPX and not looking forward to it at all.
Hi Martin, this is my pretty slow reply to a helpful answer!

Weirdly FCP7 OMF import has got better for me recently. I've been doing bits here and there over the last 4 years on a feature editing in FCP7 and OMFs seem to now open properly first time and everything starts at the right times.

I think it's been whenever I've updated PT it seems to improve, but the director / editor is very non technical so entirely possible he's changed settings without realising or telling me!

It's all shot documentary style and without a proper sound recordist, so I've not had to deal with missing metadata as there was none to start with!

I dodged the bullet on the film coming from FCPX as I was too busy so handed it off to someone else to deal with, but even just doing a trailer mix on it was a nightmare for turnover.
__________________
PT Ultimate 2019.5 | macOS 10.13.6 | Eucon 2019.5 | Mac Pro 5,1 | 3.46 GHz 12-Core
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laying Final Mix to Final Vision Without Re Encoding??? Miker84 Post - Surround - Video 8 10-31-2015 06:36 AM
Final Cut EDL to Pro tools Help Bantom Post - Surround - Video 2 07-31-2013 09:28 PM
Pro Tools and Final Cut mastroiani Post - Surround - Video 6 03-17-2010 01:01 PM
conflict with pro tools and final cut pro Mlanders Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 01-12-2006 06:33 PM
Pro Tools 4.5 with QuickTime 7.03 and Final Cut dannio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-09-2006 08:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com