Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Pro Tools Express on Mac OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-22-2013, 01:23 AM
ach ach is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Default Getting signal from controller but no sound or playback in Pro tools LE 7

I have Pro tools LE 7 for Mac without iLok, I connect an m-audio oxygen 49 thru mbox 2 digidesign to my Mac G5 with usb cables, the audio instrument tracks get signal from pro tools but without sound. Any advice is greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-22-2013, 01:55 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,114
Default Re: Getting signal from controller but no sound or playback in Pro tools LE 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by ach View Post
I have Pro tools LE 7 for Mac without iLok, I connect an m-audio oxygen 49 thru mbox 2 digidesign to my Mac G5 with usb cables, the audio instrument tracks get signal from pro tools but without sound. Any advice is greatly appreciated.
Why are you posting to the Pro Tools Express forum?

How exactly is the M-audio Oxygen 49 connected to the Mbox2? A Midi cable? or audio cables?

A track type can be either "audio" (aka recorded sound) or "instrument" (aka a variation of a MIDI track for software based/virtual instruments), but not both. What type of track are you trying to record to?

Your instrument track won't produce any sound unless you have a virtual instrument plugin inserted on the track? -- Do you?

If that's the case then you are just a little lost, the documentation that came with Pro Tools contains a lot of information on this, and there are lots of simple tutorial videos on YouTube, I keep giving links to this (kind of goofy) one out... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ji3C__hf0qY

If you know all this stuff and are doing it and something else is going wrong then try explaining clearly exactly what you are doing and what is/is not happening.

Darryl
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools LE 8 -- No sound, but strong input signal carterisgod41 FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 15 03-18-2014 08:42 PM
Getting signal and dry guitar sound but no playback. gcross86 Pro Tools Express on Mac OS X 2 01-09-2013 11:22 AM
Pro Tools 10 Signal in vu meter but no sound recorded grdan23 macOS 1 01-31-2012 08:54 PM
Kontakt Pro Tools Midi Controller Signal Routing jussounz Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 02-20-2009 05:10 AM
no signal from controller in protools LE 6.9 tgluibizzi MIDI 8 01-31-2007 06:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com