Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #561  
Old 11-17-2011, 04:30 PM
fourthtunz fourthtunz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: bangor,me
Posts: 409
Default Re: Protools 10HD upgrade to from 9 is 999.99 ..... WHY

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicktammer View Post
I'm not sure people understand that what they're seeing right now, is basically Avid's agony. 200 people just got laid off last week, 120 in 2010, 410 in 2009, that's like 40% of the workforce in the last 30 months ...
Have a look at the nasdaq stock charts (check the 5 years chart)
http://www.nasdaq.com/symbol/avid/interactive-chart
I don't think it's the time to invest big bucks in that company.
There are other options out there, and if they don't work as well, we, the pro audio community will make these options work just the same.
There you have it.
Someone at the top thinks by milking the true believers that they will survive as a company.
Interesting theory.
I upgraded to plain jane ole 10 and I think it's great and the price was reasonable but the rest of it is unbelievable.
Good luck avid, and I mean it!
Reply With Quote
  #562  
Old 11-17-2011, 08:01 PM
corp corp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 551
Question Re: Protools 10HD upgrade to from 9 is 999.99 ..... WHY

It's incredible that I have been long owner of PT since PTII who waited a long time for this huge release and Avid missed the boat in so many area's. A normal company would have all the marketing, dealers, packages and feedback on price/product all ready to go but Avid seems behind on all. If price doesn't change it seems difficult to release 20k on two upgraded systems

Many in my area are holding off until PT11 just expected more for the money....

I guess all the "post houses" can support Avid?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need upgrade to PT 10HD only brickroadstudio Pro Tools 10 9 12-17-2013 02:28 PM
upgrade PT 10 to PT 10HD bennyx75 Pro Tools 10 9 10-05-2012 03:45 PM
Cant update to protools 10hd after lion upgrade? Studio x macOS 2 03-10-2012 11:16 PM
Protools 10HD upgrade back up to $1,000 dollars! Mr.Ed Pro Tools 10 33 02-28-2012 06:28 PM
Protools 8HD to 10HD Upgrade Price is ridicules! kickit Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 10-29-2011 08:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com