Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-03-2006, 01:11 AM
Jory Jory is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Fairfax, CA
Posts: 30
Default Announcing the Tempo 1.0 widget

With AES around the corner, I am delighted to announce that I have released my first Dashboard Widget and it is especially for audio engineers like myself. (Necessity is the mother of invention, right?)

The widget is for calculating time periods and samples based on the BPM tempo of a song, a useful and necessary tool for music mixing, especially when setting up reverbs and delays.

And the price for this new wonder gizmo? Absolutely free! So head on over to my website and download it! The only requirement is that it runs within Dashboard on Mac OS X 10.4.x.

http://studio.jory.org/tempo.php

Why the Tempo widget?

* Any good engineer knows that reverb and delay times should coincide with the beats per minute of a song. Most software reverbs and delays ask for milliseconds, rather than BPM, though. Enter this widget, which calculates many useful time increments for a given BPM.

How do I use the widget?

* Once it is installed and activated in Dashboard, all you need to do is enter a BPM and select a sample rate. Then you can choose the time increment that works best for you and enter it into your reverb or delay.

What do I need to run it?

* Currently, this widget only runs in Dashboard, as part of Mac OS X 10.4 Tiger.

Where can I get the widget and how much does it cost?

* The widget is available here ( http://studio.jory.org/downloads.php ) and is absolutely FREE!

Jory K. Prum
Sound Guy
__________________
Jory
me@jory.org
http://studio.jory.org
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-03-2006, 04:45 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Announcing the Tempo 1.0 widget

For those of you running a PC and can't load/run the widget, I've got a similar tool on my website.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-03-2006, 08:16 AM
Jory Jory is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Fairfax, CA
Posts: 30
Default Re: Announcing the Tempo 1.0 widget

Nice to know there's an alternative out there for the Win folks.

FYI, I will be porting my Widget to Yahoo! Widgets shortly, too. Then Windows folks can run it, as well.
__________________
Jory
me@jory.org
http://studio.jory.org
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Announcing Avid S3L Live Sound Systems Bruce Paine General Announcements 0 05-29-2013 12:48 PM
Announcing SynthMaster, a truely unique software effectsmaster General Discussion 0 05-13-2004 03:09 PM
Announcing Mbox Avid General Announcements 0 01-17-2002 03:37 AM
Announcing Pro Tools|HD Avid General Announcements 0 01-17-2002 03:33 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com