Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #71  
Old 09-20-2015, 04:22 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,283
Default Re: Pro Tools 10.3.10 and Yosemite

Quote:
Originally Posted by polkbrosmusic View Post
The way I got Pro Tools 10 working on Yosemite was to install it on a maverick partition then upgrade to Yosemite. The only issue I'm having is the insert redraw.
That's not the only issue you have or will have. Using Migration Assassin is never the way to go when going to another version of OSX. Clean partition or drive and install everything from fresh. Sure it's a lot of work but you won't have weird issues down the line. Using MA will bring over all kinds of nasties left from the old OSX install.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 09-28-2015, 04:16 AM
eesn eesn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: london
Posts: 152
Default Re: Pro Tools 10.3.10 and Yosemite

Quote:
Originally Posted by polkbrosmusic
The way I got Pro Tools 10 working on Yosemite was to install it on a maverick partition then upgrade to Yosemite. The only issue I'm having is the insert redraw.
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
That's not the only issue you have or will have. Using Migration Assassin is never the way to go when going to another version of OSX. Clean partition or drive and install everything from fresh. Sure it's a lot of work but you won't have weird issues down the line. Using MA will bring over all kinds of nasties left from the old OSX install.
This is the canonical Windows way. However, if upgrading Mac OSX in-place (e.g. not Migrating one drive to another), there are virtually no issues to speak of. All OSX versions have performed exceptionally well in this regard. I don't remember upgrading 10.8 to 10.9 to break my PT install.

For the insert redraw issue, this might be of interest: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uW00YItjgzg
I've not verified it. (source)
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 09-28-2015, 04:27 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,283
Default Re: Pro Tools 10.3.10 and Yosemite

Quote:
Originally Posted by eesn View Post
This is the canonical Windows way. However, if upgrading Mac OSX in-place (e.g. not Migrating one drive to another), there are virtually no issues to speak of. All OSX versions have performed exceptionally well in this regard. I don't remember upgrading 10.8 to 10.9 to break my PT install.

For the insert redraw issue, this might be of interest: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uW00YItjgzg
I've not verified it. (source)
I know it's Apple's way to do an in-situ update but that's not the way to go for PT. You really want to do it as I said with a clean partition or boot drive and install everything from fresh and NEVER use MA. There's too much of a possibility of having non-compatibilities between your old programs and the new OSX version. Particularly in the case of PT10 and Yosemite. Or other programs that don't have Yosemite compatibility.

As always have a backup of things BEFORE doing an operating system 'upgrade' so you have something to roll back to if/when you have issues. Also having that backup is good for when you have other system problems. Backups have saved my bacon more than once.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 07-06-2016, 08:11 PM
rogerbueno rogerbueno is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: los angeles
Posts: 2
Default Re: Pro Tools 10.3.10

Quote:
Originally Posted by WombatStudio.Org View Post
It's a shame that the only version of Pro Tools worth a damn for tracking isn't updated to use the latest OS.
Most desired features for 2016>

You do make a huge point. Why have support, If support doesn't really
1. support a modern, up to date operating system?

2. People may be relying on the fact that other software they use must be compliant. Avid, get your act together.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro tools 9MP + Yosemite (OSX 10.10) ShortWarning Pro Tools 9 9 01-03-2016 04:13 PM
Pro Tools 11 and Yosemite Becharax Pro Tools 11 18 08-15-2015 02:52 PM
Pro Tools SE 8.03 and Yosemite ellacw Pro Tools SE and Essential (Mac) 7 03-19-2015 08:41 AM
Yosemite support added to Pro Tools | Duet and Pro Tools | Quartet Avid Technical Alerts 0 01-30-2015 05:50 PM
Pro tools yosemite OS X Johnny Mac Pro Tools 10 11 12-18-2014 07:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com