Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-22-2014, 06:56 AM
notable's Avatar
notable notable is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Watertown, MA, USA
Posts: 139
Default -55 error on start up of PT mac hdx rig. Anybody?

I'm having -55 error on start up of Pro Tools. It hangs on the start up screen asks if I want more info and if I do it crashes and goes back to the finder. I can't find any info about the Avid error message? Just reinstalled 11.2.2 with no luck. Now core wont see the hdx hardware either. Any insights would welcome. Thanks Dan
__________________
Notable.com
AfricanUnderground.com
DemocracyinDakar.com
NomadicWax.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-22-2014, 10:15 AM
Hugh-H Hugh-H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 188
Default Re: -55 error on start up of PT mac hdx rig. Anybody?

Hello,

There was a report on this forum that 11.2.2 and above causes the HDX cards to go missing in a Thunderbolt chassis. I can't verify the veracity but it's worth looking into.
Hugh
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-22-2014, 10:21 AM
notable's Avatar
notable notable is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Watertown, MA, USA
Posts: 139
Default Re: -55 error on start up of PT mac hdx rig. Anybody?

This is a Pcie card in the Mac pro..... But same problem
__________________
Notable.com
AfricanUnderground.com
DemocracyinDakar.com
NomadicWax.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-27-2014, 05:30 AM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 771
Default Re: -55 error on start up of PT mac hdx rig. Anybody?

Have you trashed prefs, databases, etc.? I think Hugh was trying to refer you to the issue as it relates to a firmware upgrade that was required for 11.3 but showed up in 11.2.2.

Just yesterday I purchased a couple of OWC SSD's but was wondering about that card instead as it circumvents the old SATA limits in the Mac Pro. I was concerned about PCI bus latency becoming a problem.

I tried searching the web for -55 error too, no luck. There was an error -53 relating to the disk for some software other than PT...

Have you tried installing PT11 on an old fashioned spinning disk and removing the SSD card?
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 2 1T data drives in Thunderbolt enclosure, OSX 10.10.5, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, Pro Tools 12.4 HD, PreSonus Studio One 3.5, Logic X, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-03-2015, 05:20 AM
notable's Avatar
notable notable is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Watertown, MA, USA
Posts: 139
Default -55 error on start up of PT mac hdx rig. Anybody?

The ssd drive has been working like a champ for 18 months. I don't think thats the issue. I will reseat the card and run digi test this morning.
__________________
Notable.com
AfricanUnderground.com
DemocracyinDakar.com
NomadicWax.com

Last edited by notable; 01-04-2015 at 01:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-03-2015, 05:58 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,717
Default Re: -55 error on start up of PT mac hdx rig. Anybody?

Quote:
Originally Posted by notable View Post
The ssd drive has been working like a champ for 18 months. I don't think thats the issue. I will reseat the card and run digi test this morning.
And do the PRAM thing aswell. That did it for us a few months back.

Best of Luck
Christopher
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-04-2015, 01:58 AM
notable's Avatar
notable notable is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Watertown, MA, USA
Posts: 139
Default Re: -55 error on start up of PT mac hdx rig. Anybody?

Ok did pram reset, disk permissions, upgraded to 11.3 and no love. I was suspect that my digi database and pref tossing utility was actually getting to the right files..... I have version 2.5 of this crucial french app but its too old ( pre pt 11 and pre os 10.7) I went to check the tossed preferences but found that OSX hides the user verison of the library where the preferences live. So I had to find the terminal script to unhide it. That worked and so I manually tossed those prefs! Then digi test was all good except the failed loop back test (which is normal w third party interfaces and I'm running an hdio 16 and two lynx aurora 16s). So still No luck I immediately got the same error -55 on pro tools boot.

What occurred to me was cable or interface woahs.... So I next detached all the interfaces at the hdx card and suddenly PT booted - hooray. It saw the hdx option and asked if I had interfaces. So I pressure air cleaned the cable ends and checked the firmware on the lynx ( they were the most current for both the auroras and the hd-lt cards ). On first boot the hardware only saw the Ist interface but I rebooted and interface 2 and 3 came back online. Success.!

After all that..... Im still a little vague on what was the culprit. I'm guessing some miss communication to the interfaces made seeing hdx card freak. I never saw anyone have an error -55 any where on the web or Avid sites so I'm still wondering but all is well now and I'm playing with the IO settings. One of my new years resolutions is to better rule my IO settings. (Such a nerd) :) thanks for all the comments and questions.
__________________
Notable.com
AfricanUnderground.com
DemocracyinDakar.com
NomadicWax.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-04-2015, 06:04 AM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 771
Default Re: -55 error on start up of PT mac hdx rig. Anybody?

Congrats on the fix and thanks for posting your solution.
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 2 1T data drives in Thunderbolt enclosure, OSX 10.10.5, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, Pro Tools 12.4 HD, PreSonus Studio One 3.5, Logic X, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error During Start Up DirtyPopsicleProd Pro Tools Express on Windows 0 03-05-2013 12:00 PM
Error: 3 on Start Up orage macOS 0 09-17-2012 11:16 AM
ERROR - 192 AT START UP dizzove Tips & Tricks 1 10-31-2007 11:58 AM
7.3 error pop-up @ start up ostrange 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-04-2007 04:00 PM
DAE error -199 on start up ripe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-25-2002 05:11 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com