Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-02-2013, 03:51 PM
Timusic8 Timusic8 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Glendale, CA
Posts: 4
Default Pro Tools Quicktime Server (Not Responding) 11.0.3 Mavericks

Pro Tools 11.0.3 on a brand new Macbook Pro (mavericks)

When booting up Pro Tools for the first time in Activity Monitor I see
two issues:
Pro Tools Quicktime Server (Not Responding)
and
Avid Video Engine (Not Responding)

After a minute or two Avid Video Engine returns to normal but the Pro Tools Quicktime Server remains as (Not Responding)

If I kill the process the Pro Tools becomes non-responsive as well and has to be restarted. Re-installing Pro Tools does not fix the problem.

Anyone else having this problem? Does anyone know exactly what the Pro Tools Quicktime Server process is doing? Pro Tools does seem to run fine if I don't mess with it, but I'm still curious as to what's going on.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-14-2013, 02:34 AM
gladkiy gladkiy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2
Default Re: Pro Tools Quicktime Server (Not Responding) 11.0.3 Mavericks

Same thing here, on my MBP with Mavericks - but in my case - Avid Video Engine is still running, while Pro Tools Quicktime Server not responding.
In overall - no video playback in PT11 - everything works great in PT10.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-23-2013, 04:23 PM
SamAero SamAero is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2
Default Re: Pro Tools Quicktime Server (Not Responding) 11.0.3 Mavericks

Same system specs (OSX 10.9.1, PT11.0.3) & same phenomenon happening in Activity Monitor over here. I'm not noticing any symptoms in Pro Tools, though - video has been working fine for me so far, so I'm not messing with it.

The only thing I've noticed is that when loading Pro Tools for the first time, the program appears to hang on "connecting to the Avid Video Engine".
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-23-2013, 04:57 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Pro Tools Quicktime Server (Not Responding) 11.0.3 Mavericks

Please try the new 11.1 update
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-21-2014, 03:27 AM
dubbingmixer dubbingmixer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1
Default Re: Pro Tools Quicktime Server (Not Responding) 11.0.3 Mavericks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
Please try the new 11.1 update
Just registered to get on this thread!

Just tried V11.1.2 and still cannot play video.

I'm seeing the same activity monitor message i.e. Pro Tools QT server not responding when I tried to bounce a video clip to QT to see if that would play.

The Avid Video Engine is loading, I've had no joy playing any video files, even files that did play in V10.

I'm using a mid2009 MBP with 8GB of memory and (damn) Mavericks installed, so border line spec I admit, but I did expect to be able to play back a 3 minute H264 file with a couple of audio tracks.

Has anyone got any work around for this?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-21-2014, 04:04 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,067
Default Re: Pro Tools Quicktime Server (Not Responding) 11.0.3 Mavericks

Pro Tools QuickTime Server (32 bit) Do we need this in the system?
If not where is it located for removal?

My ? is regarding 11.1.2 crashing while saving in playback.
May be related.
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Testing:All APFS 90% 10% Audio on HFS+(Testing 1.5 yr in)
Pro Tools U-2019.6 MacOS 10.14.6
Second boot-10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire RX-580 MacVCEdition, 3-Displays)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDI over IP)
----
music-design-creation
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.

Audio Tuning and System Services
----
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-27-2014, 11:21 AM
Intersound Intersound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 35
Default Re: Pro Tools Quicktime Server (Not Responding) 11.0.3 Mavericks

Same issue here on a MBP (late 2013 / OS 10.9.1) but the video plays back quite smoothly. I can only see this issue in the activity monitor (?). Feels strange anyway...anyone could sort this out ? AVID ?
__________________
PT 11.3.1 HDX2 OSX 10.9.5
Mac Pro 2x2,66GHz 6 Core Xeon / 32GB RAM / D-Command
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-06-2014, 11:51 AM
P_J P_J is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Finland
Posts: 276
Default Re: Pro Tools Quicktime Server (Not Responding) 11.0.3 Mavericks

PTHDn 11.1.2 and I'm also having Quicktime_OPServer going red in Activity Monitor. Actually there are two duplicated processes in my case. Both red. AVE is normal.
I don't have major video problems, but today I noticed (50min project/CPU15-20%) that PT went very unresponsive. Starting PT again fixed this, but after some time slowness came back. That's why I opened Activity Monitor.
Normally PT11 has been very stable and responsive for me.
EDIT: I made more testing with a same session. It (red) doesn't happen all the time after re starting PT. First I thought that this slowness has something to do with this OPServer error, but maybe that's not a case.
EDIT2: There haven't been any slowness in other sessions, so QT server didn't cause that. Still QT goes not responding in Active Monitor with every session. But without any effect.
__________________
OS10.14.6 * PT-Ultimate 2019.6/Eucon19.7/AJA15.22*Omni*Artist Series/PT|Control*nMP 3.5GHz-6core/32Gb/D300
**Post Production**

Last edited by P_J; 03-11-2014 at 02:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-10-2014, 01:02 PM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 989
Default Pro Tools QuickTime server RED ?????

There is a thread over on GS

Apparently There may be a bug in PT 11 or PTHD 11.1.2 numerous people are reporting
Pro tools Quick Time Server not responding / show in red in the Mac Activity Monitor Any body know for sure what is going on
I have already had PT completely render QT un recordable and had to do a clean install of Maverics all over again to get QT back.
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB........PTHDN 2018.12 on OS 10.13.6 High Sierra on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Samsung 970 EVO 1TB and PT sessions storage on 2dn Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB --


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...

Last edited by K Roche; 03-11-2014 at 06:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-11-2014, 06:19 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 989
Default Re: Pro Tools QuickTime server RED ?????

337 views and no replies ? Is no one else having this showing red thing going on ? There are about 6 so far over on GS. Kev.
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB........PTHDN 2018.12 on OS 10.13.6 High Sierra on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Samsung 970 EVO 1TB and PT sessions storage on 2dn Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB --


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10 for OS X Mavericks? datooch macOS 21 12-21-2017 12:54 PM
500 Internal Server Error We're sorry but the web server encountered an unexpected c DrumEatDrum Getting Started 10 07-09-2013 11:47 AM
Files transfered server-server relay still downloaded from remote server Phill Barrett Aspera DigiDelivery 1 03-19-2010 01:58 AM
ilok.com - server stopped responding. DaveSB Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 12-08-2006 01:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com