Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools SE and Essential (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-23-2009, 07:58 PM
Mac 09 Mac 09 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Default When will protools 8 support new 64 bit imacs

I just got my new imac and found out it is a 64bit system ,running on the new snow leopard .Is digi design going to make another updated version of protools to accomedate the newer macs, or am I out of luck.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-23-2009, 10:37 PM
Kevin Windrem Kevin Windrem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Grass Valley, CA, USA
Posts: 76
Default Re: When will protools 8 support new 64 bit imacs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac 09 View Post
I just got my new imac and found out it is a 64bit system ,running on the new snow leopard .Is digi design going to make another updated version of protools to accomedate the newer macs, or am I out of luck.
Snow Leopard supports 32 and 64 bit apps and also has 32 and 64 bit kernel modes. There's a pretty decent description at:http://www.apple.com/macosx/technology/

I would expect that Pro Tools will eventually include 64 bit code if it provides an increase in performance.

Note: Don't set up your Mac to run in 64-bit kernel mode or the PT kernel (and any other 32-bit extensions (aka drivers)) won't load!
__________________
Kevin Windrem
Sweet Spot Sound
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-23-2009, 10:51 PM
Mac 09 Mac 09 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: When will protools 8 support new 64 bit imacs

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
changing from protools 8 audio only to protools 8 with video support djkaz macOS 5 09-04-2013 04:00 PM
Imacs/ protools 10/ glyph drives Jedi Patel macOS 5 03-04-2012 10:18 AM
New Imacs support 2 external 30" displays! nst7 Post - Surround - Video 0 05-03-2011 01:08 PM
New Imacs mistlabz Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 10 10-25-2009 08:48 AM
Has anybody tried PT with the new iMacs yet? DRAFT 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-23-2006 05:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com