Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-25-2018, 03:53 AM
riggi riggi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 25
Default Pro Tools 2018.xx MIDI INTERFACE

Hello Duc.

I have about 5 keyboards and 10 rack mount modules that I would like to get connected to Pro Tools.

I have an Avid Midi I/O but it seems to crash my Audio/Midi Setup window. It's drivers are no longer supported as well.

SO, what is recommended or being used to get my setup working?

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-25-2018, 05:35 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,554
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018.xx MIDI INTERFACE

Quote:
Originally Posted by riggi View Post
Hello Duc.

I have about 5 keyboards and 10 rack mount modules that I would like to get connected to Pro Tools.

I have an Avid Midi I/O but it seems to crash my Audio/Midi Setup window. It's drivers are no longer supported as well.

SO, what is recommended or being used to get my setup working?

Thanks in advance.
First:
Lose the Avid MIDI interface.

Second:
If you want them all to be seen by PT and don't want to mess with chaining them one to another I'd suggest getting a pair of these from MOTU: http://motu.com/products/midi/xpressxt_usb
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-26-2018, 11:20 AM
DJKeys's Avatar
DJKeys DJKeys is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 160
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018.xx MIDI INTERFACE

I have had the MidiExpress XT for many years. The only thing it ever needed was a new battery. Very solid piece of gear. Mine is over 15 years old-

-dj
__________________
iMAC 3.2GHz 6-core i7
250GB SSD (internal)
1TB SSD (external)
16GB RAM
OSX 10.14.5
PT 2019.10 (last one)
Waves Gold/RenMaxx v11
iZotope Ozone 8
Focusrite Clarett 8Pre

Nord Stage 3
Nord Lead A1
DSI Mopho X4
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-26-2018, 02:38 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,554
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018.xx MIDI INTERFACE

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJKeys View Post
I have had the MidiExpress XT for many years. The only thing it ever needed was a new battery. Very solid piece of gear. Mine is over 15 years old-

-dj
I've had my MOTU MIDI Timepiece AVUSB for probably that long as well and like your - solid as a rock under both Windows and OSX. And like you I only had to change the battery (twice). MOTU stuff is generally solid material.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-26-2018, 02:43 PM
spock999 spock999 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Ste-Julienne Qc Canada
Posts: 169
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018.xx MIDI INTERFACE

I would go with the MidiExpress XT and stay away from MOTU ... I have a MOTU 8 that work perfect when it feel like it and then just stop working for no freaking reason so I pluged back my old MidiExpress and boom we are back in business.
__________________
Your eyes can deceive you don't trust them , Mix with your ears
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-26-2018, 06:22 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,554
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018.xx MIDI INTERFACE

Quote:
Originally Posted by spock999 View Post
I would go with the MidiExpress XT and stay away from MOTU ... I have a MOTU 8 that work perfect when it feel like it and then just stop working for no freaking reason so I pluged back my old MidiExpress and boom we are back in business.
Dude - the MIDI Express XT is a MOTU unit. Get your info straight. Plenty of people have had zero issues with MOTU equipment. MOTU makes excellent equipment - you just have to know what you're doing - that's all. That and pay attention to system configuration.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-27-2018, 08:44 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,836
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018.xx MIDI INTERFACE

I'll give another nod to MOTU. I have had a MOTU Fastlane USB(2x2) for a good 10 years now. It was flawless for most of that time, but switching to windows 10 made it unhappy, so I bought an iConnect(possibly the most annoying setup known to mankind). That worked okay for several months, but a computer swap killed it no matter what I tried. In desperation, I dragged out the old MOTU, downloaded the current driver and its been working dandy ever since You might find something in M-Audio's product lineup, but I have been unimpressed with that company for years
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-27-2018, 11:44 AM
foxes's Avatar
foxes foxes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: London UK
Posts: 192
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018.xx MIDI INTERFACE

I have an Emagic Unitor 8 and an AMT 8 for at least ten years if not longer & they have always work flawlessly with PT.
__________________
iMac 27" Late 2013 3.5Ghz i7 32GB Ram 3TB HDD, 1TB SSD Samsung 850 Pro, High Sierra 10.13.6, Pro tools 2019.12 & 2020.3 installed, 2020.5 downloaded & archived, UAD Apollo 8 Quad & Satellite Quad, Reason 10.4.1, Logic Pro X 10.4.8, plugins & VI's by practically everyone. G-Tech Mini 1TB HDD, 3 x 1TB Glyph GT050Q, Lacie Rugged 500GB & several assorted drives.....lots & lots of hardware synths & outboard

https://soundcloud.com/2b3productions
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-27-2018, 01:04 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,523
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018.xx MIDI INTERFACE

no need to get the expensive MOTU for midi synths. I use 2 motu microlite for 10 midi i/o with great success. You don't need the XT for your particular needs.

If on mac, motu are the way to go.

If on win, i have heard they show up as emulated in pro tools and can give timing issues, and that one of the ones that doesn't is the m audio midisport 4x4.
__________________
-iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6/Win10 Pro, TB3 Dock & 4xSSD, UA Apollo x3 + Octopre x3, Microlite x2, Midi Synths galore, PT 2020.3
-Aorus X5 V8, 6 core Intel 8850H, 32GB ram, GTX 1070, Win 10 Pro, PT 2020.3/Nuendo 10, Apollo Twin TBolt
-Whenever I launch Pro Tools, I get wet.(™)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-27-2018, 04:03 PM
treason treason is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 233
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018.xx MIDI INTERFACE

I’ve had both a MOTU MidiExpress 128 and MidiExpress XT USB. The 128 was fine, the XT was quirky for me (required me to filter it in Pro Tools). What I didn’t like was the KEXT which MOTU installed.

I switched earlier this year to an iConnectivity mio10 and have not looked back. I have complex midi installs and have used Opode Studio 5’s (still do), the mio10 is brilliant, hassle free and has tons of functionality. Oh - and it just works without system level SW installed.

https://www.sweetwater.com/store/det...ectivity-mio10

Another option.
__________________
T-
-----
Waterstreet Studio Main: MacPro 2012 (12C@3.46GHz), 48GB, Apple/Samsung SSDs, WD Blacks. macOS 13.3
DSP & IO : Pro Tools HDX2(2018.3), 2x UAD Octo, HDIO 16x16 Analog IO(3), HDIO 16x16 Digital IO
Plugins: Avid, DMG Audio, Kush, oeksound, P'n'T, Plugin Alliance, Softube, SoundTheory, Sonnox, Sound Radix, SoundToys, UAD, VEP, etc
Hardware: API, Chandler, Hardy, Moog, Neve, Shadow Hills, Smart, Summit, TC Electronic M6000, UREI, etc
Microphones: Telefunken, Neumann, Shure, AKG

Last edited by treason; 09-27-2018 at 06:21 PM. Reason: Autocorrect errors
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Pro Tools 2018 Setup with Yamaha Midi Grand danm190 Windows 16 07-28-2020 10:27 AM
MIDI issues in Pro Tools 2018 on Windows 10. ccollege Pro Tools 2018 3 09-22-2018 09:52 PM
Pro Tools 2018.3 / 2018.4 crashing when switching window configurations matthewmkb macOS 0 06-27-2018 06:33 AM
Pro tools 2018 midi fatjon22 Pro Tools 2018 5 01-27-2018 08:28 AM
Midi interface for Pro tools HD Johncmuzic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 08-16-2006 11:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com