Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-20-2020, 04:50 AM
Hulacki19 Hulacki19 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: London
Posts: 3
Default Certain Cmd+Shift modifier Key Commands not working

Hi There,

I am having an issue on my remote rig that I have never seen in any studios I have worked in before. Certain key commands (all that use modifiers Cmd+Shift) are not working for me. The specific commands are: Find clips in clip list (Cmd+Shift+F), Copy and Paste focused plug in automation (Cmd+Shift+C/V) and export clips (Cmd+Shift+K). When using any of these three commands the Pro Tools Logo in the top menu flashes blue, so it recognises a command but nothing happens.
It is also not all Cmd+Shift commands that aren't working, as Cmd+Shift+N for new track works fine.
I have tried fresh sessions without templates, trashing prefs, changing keyboard language from british to american and back again, closing any background apps that may be stealing focus (app to turn my phone into my mouse for example) and now I am out of ideas. I use this commands everyday in studios with no issues.
One more note to add, this also happens on my macbook pro 2011, running an older version of pro tools and OSX Sierra. So this issue doesn't seem to be PT version or OSX version related.

Any new ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Many Thanks

P.s I have searched for answers to this question but the closest I have come to the same question is people with the specific exporting clips not working, which I believe is a different problem.
__________________
Mac Mini 2018 - 3.2ghz i7 - 32gb DDr4 - OSX Mojave 10.14.6 - Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-20-2020, 05:11 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,196
Default Re: Certain Cmd+Shift modifier Key Commands not working

Hi, welcome to community.

Can you please be specific which OS/PT versions you are having trouble?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-20-2020, 06:22 AM
Hulacki19 Hulacki19 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: London
Posts: 3
Default Re: Certain Cmd+Shift modifier Key Commands not working

Thank you for the reply, as stated in my signature my OS is Mojave 10.14.6 and my PT version is Ultimate 2018.12.

My old Macbook Pro also displays the same problems and is running Sierra 10.12.6 with PT Ultimate 2018.7 so it doesn't seem to be a problem with a specific OS or PT version.

That said, my mac mini was originally built up form a time machine from this Macbook, so a specific setting could have been copied across from there.

Thanks again
__________________
Mac Mini 2018 - 3.2ghz i7 - 32gb DDr4 - OSX Mojave 10.14.6 - Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-20-2020, 07:33 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,196
Default Re: Certain Cmd+Shift modifier Key Commands not working

Works here on 10.15.3 & 2019.12 so I am suspecting some random error has creeped into your system because you have upgraded your macOS instead of doing clean install
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-20-2020, 07:52 AM
Hulacki19 Hulacki19 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: London
Posts: 3
Default Re: Certain Cmd+Shift modifier Key Commands not working

Actually I have just realised I need to correct myself. It was a clean install of mojave on the Mac Mini, with Migration assistant used to copy everything over.

As stated though, this always used to happen on my Macbook Pro, and this the first home computer I used Pro tools on.

Do you have any ideas at ways to troubleshoot the issue?
__________________
Mac Mini 2018 - 3.2ghz i7 - 32gb DDr4 - OSX Mojave 10.14.6 - Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-20-2020, 07:52 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,196
Default Re: Certain Cmd+Shift modifier Key Commands not working

Migration Assassin is known to duck things so do it all over again without MA
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PTHD 12.7.1 Shift Modifier Not Working chadjhughes Pro Tools 12 3 03-17-2017 11:59 AM
S6 Bug Report: Shift Modifier Latching with Soft Keys Dan Smith Avid S6 3 05-29-2016 01:39 PM
Softkey shift modifier possible bug? Marsdy Avid S6 4 03-15-2016 01:51 AM
Some new key commands not working K Roche Pro Tools 11 5 10-17-2013 06:01 AM
D-Command Modifier keys not working Touchwood Studios ICON & C|24 3 03-01-2011 09:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com