Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #521  
Old 02-03-2004, 10:36 PM
besmusic besmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Seattle
Posts: 71
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

Can someone please point me to a good tweak/setup for configuring a new Inspiron 8600? I checked the basic Digi specs and recommendations for WinXP, but I thought I saw some folks on this thread mention certain tweaks/configs for the 8600. I did a search and couldn't find anything yet...

__________________
Pete Turok
Powermac G5 dual 2.0 & Dell i8600
PTLE 6.2.2, 002r
Reply With Quote
  #522  
Old 02-04-2004, 02:06 PM
DNZ Productions DNZ Productions is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 7
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

Quote:

Derek,
If you hold off for a while we will have some results on the new Athlon 64 3000 laptops. Should be out in the next week or two.

Allen
Are you referring to the eMachine models that are now being sold at Best Buy ? Or are they releasing a new set of systems with the processors?
Reply With Quote
  #523  
Old 02-04-2004, 02:27 PM
RBaker RBaker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Altadena, Ca
Posts: 194
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

I have an acer 290 series. I think it's the same thing. Mine however is a 1.3. I think I took a big hit because of the 1.3, but it still runs well. I think I get like 32+5? I don't remember. I also replaced the hard drive with a 5400 rpm hard drive (the seagate) It's quiet, uses less power and runs well. I don't think it changed my davec performance but than again davec is only one measurement. The drive seems to make a really big difference in editing and such--kinda like the serial ata drives.

Anyway I dig the notebook size and thickness etc and thats why I went for it. I wasn't a fan of the widescreen.
Reply With Quote
  #524  
Old 02-04-2004, 08:40 PM
recordingguy recordingguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 360
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

Allen, on these new laptops we are talking about like the 64bit emachiene, does the built in firewire port work for the 002r or would you still have to buy a recomended card for it?
__________________
recordingguy
Recording Guy's Studio & Sound
www.recordingguy.com
Cedar Rapids, IA
Reply With Quote
  #525  
Old 02-05-2004, 04:59 AM
Matt L Matt L is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Nottingham,UK
Posts: 35
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

Sorry - stupid question, but does the onboard firewire port work with the Digi002 on the Inspiron 8600?

Also, I have a 120gig ext USB2.0 drive I was planning on using as my audio drive. Would I be able to run an MBox on one USB port on the 8600 and the drive on the other?

My band are looking at getting an 002 in our studio area and I would like to run an MBox at home and when touring.

Cheers

MattL
Reply With Quote
  #526  
Old 02-06-2004, 10:11 AM
Sam DeFranco Sam DeFranco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 75
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

Matt,

The 8600 FW port works fine w/ my 002. You just need to get a 4 to 6 pin FW cable.

Regards,
__________________
Sam
Digi 002, Dell i8600
I Wish I Could Play Like Al
Reply With Quote
  #527  
Old 02-07-2004, 01:18 PM
drmmrboy drmmrboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 141
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

I just bought a HP pavilion zd7010us laptop at Best Buy.
It may have been a mistake...

PT 6.1.1
002R (on laptop's 1394)
60G external 7200 F/W (on adaptec card bus)
(All the F/W ports, card bus, video, etc, have seperate IRQ's)
Pentium 4-M
Processor Speed: 2.66 GHz
Bus Speed: 533 MHZ
60 GB Hard Drive
512 MB DDR SDRAM
Windows XP Home
more detailed discription here pavilion zd7010us

I have the basic idea of the dave c test, but how should I set the CPU usage, H/W buffer, and playback buffer?
So far this laptop is a DOG... 15 on the dave c.

I also like to run amp mods, samplers, etc... So I have the need to run a low H/W buffer.(128/256)
I purchased this laptop on a credit card at Best Buy. So... it would be easy to exchange...
Does anyone know of a laptop at Best Buy that can solve my problem?

Thanks,
Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #528  
Old 02-07-2004, 01:31 PM
besmusic besmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Seattle
Posts: 71
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

Andrew, you'd be much better off per the experts on this forum (not I), to go with (from cheapest to most expensive):

The HP AMD 2500+ laptop - you can get this for below $1000.
The E-machines AMD 64 laptop (test results not in yet, but will be soon and expected to do well)
The HP Centrino laptops (Best Buy carries the 1.4 and the 1.5 versions.

If you don't have to shop at best buy, you should also look at the Dell Inspiron 8600. They are consisten strong performers on the Davec. I recently found some coupons online and purchased their 1.7 with a 60gig 7200 rpm drive (recommended if possible) and a DVD burner, and a UXGA screen (highest quality and resolution) and it totaled $1758.

Best of luck to you.

__________________
Pete Turok
Powermac G5 dual 2.0 & Dell i8600
PTLE 6.2.2, 002r
Reply With Quote
  #529  
Old 02-07-2004, 02:51 PM
Allen Hallada Allen Hallada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 6,686
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

Quote:
Quote:

Derek,
If you hold off for a while we will have some results on the new Athlon 64 3000 laptops. Should be out in the next week or two.

Allen
Are you referring to the eMachine models that are now being sold at Best Buy ? Or are they releasing a new set of systems with the processors?

I'm talking about the Athlon 64 models. Not sure what Best Buy has in your area right now.

Allen
Reply With Quote
  #530  
Old 02-07-2004, 04:39 PM
drmmrboy drmmrboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 141
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

Quote:


The HP AMD 2500+ laptop - you can get this for below $1000.
The E-machines AMD 64 laptop (test results not in yet, but will be soon and expected to do well)
The HP Centrino laptops (Best Buy carries the 1.4 and the 1.5 versions.


Thanks for the info Pete.
I looked at the E-Machine AMD 64, but passed on it for the HP. (foolish)
I'll research the HP centrino and AMD...
Best Buy has my money, so I'll look there a little further.
They also have some Toshiba's... Any advice on them?

Andrew
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB support with Pro Tools 9 Laptops moldenke Pro Tools 9 4 11-18-2010 04:46 PM
Dell Laptops and Pro Tools sgladm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 05-03-2006 10:32 AM
Best laptops for Pro tools felixflank 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 04-07-2006 06:41 AM
alien laptops and pro tools geefive 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-29-2006 10:17 AM
Pro Tools and Apple laptops Jsalam112 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-08-2002 09:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com