Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 08-08-2003, 03:13 PM
executivos executivos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pasadena, Ca
Posts: 356
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

woaaah! those are some great results! I haven't seen a notebook get anything close to that yet!
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 08-08-2003, 04:17 PM
EDurney EDurney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 283
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

[img]images/icons/shocked.gif[/img] coocoo1 are you sure of those results?
are you doing the DaveC correctly?
[img]images/icons/rolleyes.gif[/img]
__________________
Pro Tools 10 / Duet 2 - Eleven Rack - Mbox 2 pro
MacBook Pro 2.2ghz Quad Core/ 8gb RAM/ 750HD

Pro Tools 9 HD / 192io / C24
Mac Pro Quad 2.66 / 8Gb Ram
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 08-08-2003, 04:30 PM
Meterbridge Meterbridge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 14
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

If anyone has a spare Mbox lying around I'd be happy to test it on a bunch of different laptops. [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img] No takers? [img]images/icons/frown.gif[/img] Oh well.

Unfortunately, my wife doesen't understand how much I need one. She keeps wanting to waste money on school supplies and clothes for the kids...fixing the AC. Y'know, silly stuff.

Sarcasm aside, I was wondering if anybody has tried any of the Tablet PCs for editing? Or if anyone uses a wacom tablet instead of a mouse or a trackball.

What about any of the Centrino (Pentium-M) based notebooks?

Thanks
__________________
Sticks and stones may break my bones but whips and chains excite me.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 08-08-2003, 05:33 PM
cooocooo1 cooocooo1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 17
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

I was wondering the same thing so I checked and I'm pretty sure I'm doing it right. Just in case, here is what I'm doing. Open new session-open system usage window-create mono audio track-insert compressor,4b-eq,slap delay,medium delay and long delay-arm track-duplicate track and arm it x 31-create aux track-insert fx as before-when system usage goes into the red I delete last aux track and click the sysytem usage window to reset the meter-if all is well I hit record/play-record for one minute. I'm pretty sure this is the way to do it, if not somebody please let me know. I got 6.1 working and did the davec test? and got 32 tracks with 6 aux tracks.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 08-08-2003, 07:41 PM
executivos executivos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pasadena, Ca
Posts: 356
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

I wanted to ask if you're were sure you're doing it correct as well...

sounds good to me though.

note: if it goes into the red while you're adding tracks, thats ok. it just can't go into the red when you hit record.

ex:

you add a track and when you arm that track the meter goes into red. This is ok. just clear the red light and then make sure it stays off. then hit record and wait 1 minute. if it doesn't turn red or get an error, you're solid.

great results. I think alan was right that these athlons even in laptops are still one of the best ways to go. I'm excited to see the computerwinkel/pcclub/ECS machine with the via chipset.


lol...computerwinkel
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 08-08-2003, 09:10 PM
JPS JPS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Ohio
Posts: 924
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

cooocooo1, nice results! Looks like this is a pretty new model. Where did you pick it up? I am wondering if this might be suitable for a 002. Does it have a firewire port? Noise?
__________________
John-Q6600,GA-EP35-DS3P, Zigmatec S1283: 235 D-Verbs @ 2.4 ghz
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 08-08-2003, 10:38 PM
Allen Hallada Allen Hallada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 6,686
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

Quote:
Originally posted by cooocooo1:
I received my new laptop today. Here are the results of the davec test. I'm having trouble with my 6.1 authorazation but I'll post those results asap. Not too bad for 900.00(after 100.00 rebate)

Compaq Presrio 2100z
AthlonXP 2600+M
512mb-ddr266
30gb internal
MBox/5.3.3
32/10!!!
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">That just blows me away. Can you download Sisoft Sandra that is listed in the Best System for PTLE thread and find out what motherboard and chipset you are using? Get us some multi-media CPU benchmarks while you are at it. Thanks for scoring on this one. Great find.
Allen
[img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 08-09-2003, 07:03 AM
sinjin sinjin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 46
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

OK. here it is so far
Compaq Presario 2175
Athalon 2400 xp-m
512
40gb

Install went fine.
Played the demo in a loop for an hour..O.K
Recorded4 tracks and played with them a bit.. O.K

I have 14 days with this laptop now how much of a test does it need?

If it has trouble i will get something else but if not then it is worth it for 1050.00.


This laptop was bought at Circuit city for $1299 and came with $250.00 in rebates on top of that.
The two tear warranty is at $219 and I will buy that if it keeps working fine ( I have 14 days to test )

Isn't the demo as good as recording the samae amount of tracks as a test??

Now... what fireire drive can I get that won't break the bank?

Peace


Thanks all for the help!!
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 08-09-2003, 06:47 PM
cooocooo1 cooocooo1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 17
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

Hey JPS, I ordered it from the Compaq website, as far as it working with the 002, I'll know in a few days when my friend gets back in town. I'm anxious to test it out, he only manged to get 23 tracks with his dual processr Mac and the 002.

Allen, here's the info you asked for.

Processor >
Model: mobile AMD Athlon(tm) XP2600+
Speed: 1.99GHz
Model Number: 2600 (estimated)
Performance Rating: PR2883 (estimated)
Type: Mobile
L2 On-board Cache: 512kB ECC Synchronous Write-Back
< Chipset 1 >
Model: ATI Technologies A3/U1 S2K CPU to PCI Bridge
Front Side Bus Speed: 2x 133MHz (266MHz data rate)
< Benchmark Results >
Integer aEMMX/aSSE: 10691it/s
Float aSSE: 11645it/s
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 08-09-2003, 08:51 PM
Datus Datus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 306
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

question is this 16bit/44.1 24bit/44.1 or 24bit/48k?

Just want to know, cause I get 32/2 on my pc at 24bit 48k and am gonna feel inferior if your laptop beats me [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

even though I am only on a 2100+ and thats a 2600+
__________________
Stephen Tyler
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB support with Pro Tools 9 Laptops moldenke Pro Tools 9 4 11-18-2010 04:46 PM
Dell Laptops and Pro Tools sgladm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 05-03-2006 10:32 AM
Best laptops for Pro tools felixflank 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 04-07-2006 06:41 AM
alien laptops and pro tools geefive 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-29-2006 10:17 AM
Pro Tools and Apple laptops Jsalam112 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-08-2002 09:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com