Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-13-2019, 12:16 AM
Humood Humood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 6
Default Anyone tried external SSD for Pro Tools sessions?

Hi,
I'm currently using Lacie Rugged hard drive with the old thunderbolt to to store and work on my Pro Tools sessions.
I'm thinking of upgrading it to an SSD external drive since their transfer speed is much faster but I couldn't find any reviews from people that used an external SSD with Pro Tools.

So.. is it recommended/compatible to use SSD externals with Pro Tools? Anyone tried it who can share their experiences? Any specific brands that you recommend?
I'm thinking of getting the SANDISK EXTREME PORTABLE SSD but I'm open other SSD suggestions.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-13-2019, 03:01 AM
maltastudio's Avatar
maltastudio maltastudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: malta
Posts: 133
Default Re: Anyone tried external SSD for Pro Tools sessions?

Hi I `ve been working on an external ssd for 2 years now no issues so far.
But I backup every day on anther normal HD just in case......
I`ve been told that ssd do fail without showing any signs of problems sometimes.

Peace
__________________
www.maltastudio.com

https://soundcloud.com/charlesmuscat

MacBook Pro Late 2016
Intel I7 Quod Core 2.8 GHZ
16 GB Ram . 256 GB SSD
Mojave

Acer Nitro
Intel I7-6700-HQ
8 GB Ram 256 GB SSD x 2
Win 10 Home 64 bit
Motu 624 AVB , Yamaha 01V96i
Pro Tools Native 2019..Latest , Sonar Platinum Lifetime
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-13-2019, 03:32 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,825
Default Re: Anyone tried external SSD for Pro Tools sessions?

Any kind of storage can fail and nothing is backed up until it's backed up twice.

SSD are failing due to excess writes to individual transistors, but are virtually bulletproof when it comes to external shock; however, HDD are failing due to excess shock while the moving parts are on, being virtually bulletproof when it comes to amount of writes.

There are also tapes for long term backup, you know. The oldskool monsters that take ages to backup and an eternity to restore. But unless you backup your working storage to another place and have a backup of the backup, you aren't safe no matter what.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-13-2019, 05:37 PM
nedorama nedorama is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 571
Default Re: Anyone tried external SSD for Pro Tools sessions?

Backblaze.com - monthly backup for $12.99 of as much data from as many drives as you own. Worth it to have it backed up offsite, and gives an excuse to add the old ones back in to get them spinning (Backblaze will remind you if a drive hasn't been connected in a while).
__________________
Regards,
Ned
Monkey Boy Studios
2013 15" MacBook Pro, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.14.6; 512GB SSD System drive, Glyph GT050Q 1.5TB & 2TB FW800 drives
Summit Audio 2BA-221, TLA-50 -->Eleven Rack, Pro Tools 2019.6
Plugins: McDSP, PSP, SoundToys, Izotope/Exponential, Bomb Factory, AIR PTIEP, AAS, Arturia Collection, SoundRadix, BlueCat Audio, Massey DRT, Sugar Bytes Cyclops, Sonoma WireWorks Drumcore 4
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-14-2019, 01:29 AM
Righty27 Righty27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 1,025
Default Re: Anyone tried external SSD for Pro Tools sessions?

Cloud storage options (such as Backblaze) are now so much more accessible due to low prices and faster upload bandwidth e.g. with fibre broadband.

If you have specific types of data you want backed up offsite (i.e. relatively small and not system drive + all connected drives) and have some spare cloud storage (e.g. Office365 subscription with included 1TB on Onedrive), Mac users can use Arq with virtually any provider, so easily achieved for a one-off app cost without adding another subscription.

Obviously, this is just as useful for full offsite backups with several advantages such as client-side encryption + your own choice of cloud storage provider + personalised support from Stefan, the developer, and his team :)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-14-2019, 02:45 PM
Humood Humood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 6
Default Re: Anyone tried external SSD for Pro Tools sessions?

Thanks for the answers guys, but I don't want the SSD for backups, but for saving and running the pro tools sessions from them?

I am using Blackblaze already for backups.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-14-2019, 03:07 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,830
Default Re: Anyone tried external SSD for Pro Tools sessions?

We use external SSD drives all the way for recording to and now also for sample libraries and backups but mainly for recording to. We have Mac Pro’s here the trashcans and we need to use both USB3 and Thunderbolt casings for the SSD drives and both protocols works Great!

Every studio we work with use SSD’s for recording to so that will eventually be the total standard as the older spinners are getting replaced as recording drives although the better ones are still a-ok to record with.

We use SAMSUNG both 8XX and 9XX Pro series SSD’s for everything now as the prices has become reasonably better and better so go for a Samsung EVO or a PRO and you will be surprised and happily so

Just make sure you use either USB3 or Thunderbolt ports and cases for the drive. Not USB2 or FW.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-14-2019, 03:46 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,399
Default Re: Anyone tried external SSD for Pro Tools sessions?

Well a quick peek at the OP’s profile: if you have a 2018 MBP the best thing to do is likely to just record to the internal very very fast PCIe 3 x 4 NVMe SSD. That gets you away from fragile, and often slow, external drives especially if recording on location. And the internal SSD is way faster than any external USB SSD (even 3.1 Gen 2, that are all crippled by USB and/or the slow SATA controller). You can then copy that session to any external drive for a local backup.

The best performing external SSDs for a Mac with Thunderbolt 3 are PCIe/NVMe drives like the Samsung X5, or Sonnet Fusion, that gets you close to the internal drive performance.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-15-2019, 08:34 AM
originalscottyg originalscottyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 506
Default Re: Anyone tried external SSD for Pro Tools sessions?

I've had good experiences with the external Samsung T5 SSDs. I ran a 400+ track HDX2 session off of one when I was having memory issues on an older MacBookPro and needed to disable Disk Cache. It didn't break a sweat. I always make sure to keep everything backed up on t least 2 other drives, though.
__________________
Scott Gatte๑o
Yessian
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-01-2019, 06:38 PM
MBseva MBseva is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Sequim, United States
Posts: 19
Default Re: Anyone tried external SSD for Pro Tools sessions?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
...

Just make sure you use either USB3 or Thunderbolt ports and cases for the drive. Not USB2 or FW.
Hmmm.... Not USB2, huh? I've been using an external SSD drive for recording my latest project, and have had persistent CPU interruptions, even though the usage meter says very low usage. I have done all the PT optimizations, and still it persists.

What is the issue with USB2? would it cause hangs of this nature?

I am wondering whether a standard HD would get along better with my late 2013 iMac.
__________________
iMac (late 2013)/ Mojave 10.14.5/ 3.5 ghz Intel core i7 (4 cores)/ internal SSD/ Clarett 4Pre/ Pro Tools 2019.5
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Record and Playback PT 8 Sessions From External HD? tabasco Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-12-2009 04:19 PM
Transferring PT 8 Sessions From One External HD to Another? tabasco General Discussion 3 08-08-2009 09:58 PM
External HD for Sessions/Sounds jaynyc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-16-2007 10:33 PM
How to transfer sessions to External? Please help! Mikey Ace 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 10-05-2005 02:44 PM
Running PT sessions on external drive? Animal 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-22-2005 10:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com