Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-15-2016, 12:52 PM
fransmo fransmo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 66
Default Mastering in PT or using external software?

I´ve had this problem for eternities and would really like to get some wise advise.
When a want to make a conventional album of songs, i.e. a CD and master my music, I run into problems. I am on MAC and have tried to use Steinbergs Wavelab for some years, after using Apples Waveburner that was OK but has been phased out by apple and is no longer available if you don´t have an old copy on your machine. I´ve found Wavelab enomously frustrating, chrashing all the time and an user combating design that just makes life very very hard. On top of this I find that the material looses quality being run through Wavelab.

So I am looking for solutions, I have tried Soundforge, but there again it is no longer being updated since 2014 obviously. so what do you do?

I need a software to assemble, balance and eq an album, but find amazingly no such thing on the market apart from Wavelab? Am I blind or have I missed something important?
Many people in the business shun Steinberg like the plague, and they might be right to do so. I still have a weak spot for them since the Atari days. Anyway I also use ProTools in my studio and wonder what does people do, do they master INSIDE protools or what? How would you do that if you want your tracks exported like separate tracks for a CD. Totally confused and frustrated. Anybody with knowledge and a big heart that can brighten my day? your fransmo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-15-2016, 01:04 PM
Samy Samy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Winnipeg, MB Canada
Posts: 34
Default Re: Mastering in PT or using external software?

Have you tried Ozone 7. I use it my self and it does a great job.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-15-2016, 01:13 PM
fransmo fransmo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 66
Default Re: Mastering in PT or using external software?

I thought Ozone was just a collection of plugs like limiting compression and the like. Maybe I was wrong. Didn´t know it could handle cd assembling. thanks anyway!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-15-2016, 01:27 PM
Samy Samy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Winnipeg, MB Canada
Posts: 34
Default Re: Mastering in PT or using external software?

I master in Ozone and use Hofa CD-Burn and DDP for cd assembling. Sorry for not mentioning this in my previous post... Check it out: hofa-plugins.de/en


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-15-2016, 01:34 PM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,851
Default Re: Mastering in PT or using external software?

I use IK Multimedia T-RackS, I'm pretty happy with it. Granted I'm not doing "pro" recordings.

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-15-2016, 01:39 PM
fransmo fransmo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 66
Default Re: Mastering in PT or using external software?

The Hofa seems interesting I´ll check it out. Thanks! What I find I need is not a bunch of more compressor plugs. I got more than I can use in my DAWS, but I find I need a software to smoothen the album- or CD making process in a professional way, so it looks promising...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-16-2016, 05:13 AM
waltz mastering's Avatar
waltz mastering waltz mastering is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Third Stone From The Sun
Posts: 144
Default Re: Mastering in PT or using external software?

Quote:
Originally Posted by fransmo View Post
I find I need a software to smoothen the album- or CD making process in a professional way
A couple other options for assembly besides Hofa on a Mac are

Sonoris DDP Creator
http://www.sonorissoftware.com/catalog/index.php

Dsp_Quatro
http://www.dsp-quattro.com/dspquattr...P-Quattro.html

Audiofile Engineering - Triumph
http://www.audiofile-engineering.com/triumph/

Sonic - SoundBlade
http://www.sonicstudio.com/sonic/pro...roductoverview

Hofa and Sonoris seem to be the easiest to get around on.
You can process in PT and assemble in one of the above.

Good luck.
__________________

Tom W

www.waltzmastering.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-16-2016, 05:13 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,535
Default Re: Mastering in PT or using external software?

Quote:
Originally Posted by fransmo View Post
I thought Ozone was just a collection of plugs like limiting compression and the like. Maybe I was wrong. Didn´t know it could handle cd assembling. thanks anyway!
Actually it can't burn cd's; for that I use DSP-Quattro. Not terribly expensive and hosts vst and au format plugins. On my old Windows system I used to use Sony Soundforge and CD Architect for 'mastering' and cd burning. It's a shame CDA hasn't been updated in years and never made it to OSX. Even bigger shame that Sony dropped the ball big-time with Soundforge Mac.

I tend not to use many plugins when 'mastering'. If I find I have to then I'll go back into re-mixing it in PT. I may do a light touch of EQ and manual leveling but that's it.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-16-2016, 06:05 AM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,263
Default Re: Mastering in PT or using external software?

Happy DSP-Quattro user here! Was a smooth transition from CD Architect.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-16-2016, 01:33 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,535
Default Re: Mastering in PT or using external software?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexLakis View Post
Happy DSP-Quattro user here! Was a smooth transition from CD Architect.
The only thing that will make me happier with DSP-Quattro is when it finally goes true 64 bit. But I love it as it is now and you're right - easy transition from CDA.


edit:
For you old-time computer users (like back in DOS days) - remember the Borland Quattro (spreadsheet)? The way my mind works sometimes when I first saw DSP Quattro mentioned I'm thinking what's a spreadsheet have to do with music? :)
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OT: Mastering Software - Har-Bal vs. A.A.M.S vocalvoodoo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 02-06-2006 10:29 PM
Mastering Software? 100grit 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 10-06-2005 07:23 AM
Mastering software? surchur 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-17-2002 03:04 AM
Is mastering software necessary? J Blazin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 10-08-2002 12:15 AM
Mastering software? TonyT 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 08-29-2002 09:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com