Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2011, 08:32 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Focusrite Rednet: Competitor to HD?

This looks really interesting:

http://www.focusrite.com/us/products/rednet/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-17-2011, 08:45 AM
danander11 danander11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,012
Default Re: Focusrite Rednet: Competitor to HD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
This looks really interesting:

http://www.focusrite.com/us/products/rednet/
Dude! good find. At first glance it looks like I want a Rednet 3 Digital I/O.

It would suite my needs beautifully... almost

but being able to hit 32 channels at 96k is awfully nice!

This is going to be a fun year.
__________________
Here I am,
after time not long...
and thankful for the break,
What I found when I got there,
was that I couldn't stay away!

Hobo Shave!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-17-2011, 08:57 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,330
Default Re: Focusrite Rednet: Competitor to HD?

Finally, audio interfaces that can handle lots of i/o and use a simple, non proprietary connection without the need for a PCI/PCIx/PCIe slot. It's about time!

EDIT: My only gripe at this point is they used DB25 connectors. There's plenty of space for XLR or TRS.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-17-2011, 09:21 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: Focusrite Rednet: Competitor to HD?

The only thing I'm not sure about is the latency when just going ethernet. They have an optional PCIe card that gets under 3ms, but I'm not sure what the latency is when not using that. I guess it would be no worse than firewire or usb, though.

The other thing is I'm not clear about what kind of preamps are in the 8 preamp module. Not sure if it's ISA range, Red range, or some new design.

Also, none of the modules have an monitor control. It looks like they're assuming you will use your own choice of monitor controller.

Here's a video with Paul White interviewing them at NAMM:

http://www.soundonsound.com/news?NewsID=13521
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-17-2011, 09:22 AM
getz76 getz76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,491
Default Re: Focusrite Rednet: Competitor to HD?

Smart use of the Ethernet connector...

Yes, the Rednet 3 looks like a winner. Pick your preamps and converters yourself... rather flexible.
__________________
| Logic Pro 9 | Reason 6.5 | Pro Tools 10 | MOTU UltraLite mk3 | RME ADI-2 | Summit Audio 2BA-221 x 2 | MOTU 8pre x 2 |
| Mac Pro (4,1) 2.26gHz Xeon x 2 16gB OS X 10.7.4 | Macbook Pro (8,2) 2.2gHz i7 Quad 16gB OS X 10.7.4 |
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-17-2011, 09:27 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Focusrite Rednet: Competitor to HD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by danander11 View Post
This is going to be a fun year.
I suspect that PT9 will drive some new interfaces to market. I'm not in a huge hurry to upgrade from my 003 but waiting to see what tips up.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-17-2011, 09:28 AM
danander11 danander11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,012
Default Re: Focusrite Rednet: Competitor to HD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by getz76 View Post
Smart use of the Ethernet connector...

Yes, the Rednet 3 looks like a winner. Pick your preamps and converters yourself... rather flexible.
I've been heading that way for awhile now.. I've bought most of my mic pres with digital capability, for the four that aren't digital, I run them into the back of my ISA428 send them that way.

Their graphs (links at the bottom) show different setups including monitoring, but I'm not sure how they achieve that.. it looks like the 8 channel ad/da is handling the chore but I don't see how.. (although that's not saying much)..

I might send them a note..

I really like the 3 though.
__________________
Here I am,
after time not long...
and thankful for the break,
What I found when I got there,
was that I couldn't stay away!

Hobo Shave!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-17-2011, 09:30 AM
danander11 danander11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,012
Default Re: Focusrite Rednet: Competitor to HD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
I suspect that PT9 will drive some new interfaces to market. I'm not in a huge hurry to upgrade from my 003 but waiting to see what tips up.
Yep... I'll agree with you there.. but the 3 is tempting.. then again, I haven't priced them yet either..

I've got my 003 so I'm good for now.. but by years end I expect to be in a much better place..


How ya doin' Sunny!
__________________
Here I am,
after time not long...
and thankful for the break,
What I found when I got there,
was that I couldn't stay away!

Hobo Shave!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-17-2011, 09:32 AM
getz76 getz76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,491
Default Re: Focusrite Rednet: Competitor to HD?

I have the M-Audio ProFire Lightbridge, which is the same idea as the Rednet 3. I like the flexibility. I wish Avid/M-Audio would update the ProFire Lightbridge with a new revision. I think it would be a seller for sure.
__________________
| Logic Pro 9 | Reason 6.5 | Pro Tools 10 | MOTU UltraLite mk3 | RME ADI-2 | Summit Audio 2BA-221 x 2 | MOTU 8pre x 2 |
| Mac Pro (4,1) 2.26gHz Xeon x 2 16gB OS X 10.7.4 | Macbook Pro (8,2) 2.2gHz i7 Quad 16gB OS X 10.7.4 |
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-17-2011, 09:34 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,391
Default Re: Focusrite Rednet: Competitor to HD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by John_Toolbox View Post
Finally, audio interfaces that can handle lots of i/o and use a simple, non proprietary connection without the need for a PCI/PCIx/PCIe slot. It's about time!
Well you will need a slot for the rednet PCIe card

http://www.focusrite.com/us/products...dnet_pcie_card
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rednet is officially out! Emcha_audio Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 25 03-22-2013 07:04 AM
OT: Argosy Console Competitor / Non Profit Discount? 68topls Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 10-23-2009 07:03 PM
ISA 428 Focusrite tnie Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 02-21-2003 09:48 AM
Focusrite D2 and D3 bug Tweachzone Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 03-14-2001 02:18 PM
Focusrite d2 with PT 5.1 Nick J Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 02-24-2001 12:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com