Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-08-2010, 12:51 PM
orbro orbro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 26
Default What Are The Downsides Of Using Third Party Interfaces

Can anybody give me the pros and cons of using third party interfaces with PT9?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-08-2010, 01:07 PM
dankin dankin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashvillle
Posts: 468
Default Re: What Are The Downsides Of Using Third Party Interfaces

That depends on which third party interface your talking about IMO. I can't find any cons using PT 9 with my Metric Halo 2882-2D. It's absolutely amazing so far. With my 002r PT was always losing the connection with the interface, when I would boot up PT every morning I would have to reset the buffers other wise I'd hear nothing but static, and when tracking at low buffer settings it would constantly hang up (this started with Pt 8 for me). Anyway none of these things happen with the Metric Halo! In addition the MH 2882 sounds so much better. For me to be able to use my favorite DAW with my favorite interface is a dream come true.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-08-2010, 02:44 PM
jmp jmp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Posts: 174
Default Re: What Are The Downsides Of Using Third Party Interfaces

I'm using the Apogee Duet as I/O. Sounds great and PT9 all works together.
__________________
MacPro 8X 2.26 Ghz cores, 15 GB RAM, OS 10.6.8
PT9/Waves Platinum 8/Waves Restoration Bundle 8, W43/ Cedar DNS One/iZotope Rx2/Odds and ends
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-08-2010, 02:55 PM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: What Are The Downsides Of Using Third Party Interfaces

I think this is a GOOD THING for those in native systems that now have the ability to use whatever hardware they want to use. I'm a huge fan of the Apogee Ensemble and Duet, I regret selling my Ensemble now!!!!! This is a big deal and will make it easier (and better for some!) to get into ProTools now---- gone are the days of having to buy a specific piece of hardware in order to use ProTools.
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-08-2010, 03:49 PM
orbro orbro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 26
Default Re: What Are The Downsides Of Using Third Party Interfaces

Thanks for the replies. My main concerns are being able to access the 32 sample buffer size and the stability with third party interfaces. I thought I read somewhere that the lowest buffer you could use with non Avid/Digi interfaces was 64 samples. Anybody using a Lynx Aurora 16 via firewire with PT9?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3rd party interfaces Pat.m Getting Started 6 04-05-2013 01:15 PM
Traditional Avid interfaces vs 3rd party interfaces aftermid Pro Tools 10 9 10-24-2012 01:12 PM
No 3rd party interfaces with hdx!?!?!?!? Patheticus Pro Tools 10 30 11-09-2011 08:32 AM
3rd party audio interfaces Simon Giddings 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 08-17-2009 08:10 AM
3rd party interfaces and PT7? BigBadBill Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-22-2005 12:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com