Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-09-2004, 06:32 AM
dsw7777 dsw7777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 28
Default Free Sampletank 1.1

First off, let me state that I'm brand new to Pro Tools - using an Mbox with le 6.1.1 for Windows. I've got the basics down and wanted to add some sounds to my recordings.

After getting through the install and registration process with IK Sampletank (that only took 2 phone calls and 3 emails!) I still can't get any sounds. I can get the sampletank loaded as an insert, output from midi, etc. but still nothing.

There has to be something very basic that I just don't get. After you've created the tracks and routed them, then what? Do I record, do I need something additional? Do I need a midi keyboard?

This is what I've done so far per sampletank and other posts on this site:

1. Start a session in Pro Tools.
2. Create a new blank Stereo AUX channel (LE) or Stereo Audio Channel(Mix & HD).
3. Load Sampletank as an insert on the aux/audio channel.
4. Once the Sampletank interface comes up click on the Root button. Now go to
the main Mac hard drive, then IK Multimedia then open it.
Now click ONCE on Sampletank Instruments then click Choose. (ON PC) go to c:
\program files\IK Multimedia\Sampletank Instruments
5. Now load a sound by double clicking on the name of the sound in the ST
interface.
6. Now make a new midi track, then go to the output of the Midi track and
output it to the sound or sampletank channel that comes up.

All the above works; I get the sampletank as an insert - I just don't get how to make any sounds.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-09-2004, 07:01 AM
Bazzle Bazzle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Next door,to where I used to be.
Posts: 3,148
Default Re: Free Sampletank 1.1

You need to create the Midi notes for the Sampletank to play.You can do this by either drawing the notes on the track or using a midi device like a keyboard or drum machine,and recording them to the track.
__________________
Bazzle

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-09-2004, 07:05 AM
dsw7777 dsw7777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 28
Default Re: Free Sampletank 1.1

Thanks Bazzle - I knew there had to something else! By the way; I followed your post about the girl; you showed a lotta class and integrity in a difficult situation. Nice going.

Thanks for your help (again)!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-09-2004, 07:06 AM
gregor rasek gregor rasek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Austria/Vienna
Posts: 173
Default Re: Free Sampletank 1.1

...perhaps...: depending on the instrument you´re using, not to every note you´re playing is assigned a sound to... so try to move some note up/down, search for the tone/note which has also has assigned sound.
sorry that bad english...
__________________
O.R.S. - recording engineer - www.overdub.at
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-09-2004, 07:13 AM
Bazzle Bazzle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Next door,to where I used to be.
Posts: 3,148
Default Re: Free Sampletank 1.1

If you email me I will send you a Midi track you can import and play around with.
__________________
Bazzle

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sampletank Free with 7.3 possible? kidsonic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-12-2006 06:11 PM
free sampletank? 16yearsjeff 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-15-2006 06:48 AM
SampleTank Free 1.19 Cedrik Felter Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 01-31-2005 03:41 AM
Sampletank Free vs Sampletank LE hgen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-10-2004 08:49 AM
OT- Are SampleTank 1.1 FREE and LE the same? keithl 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 02-18-2004 07:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com