Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #6751  
Old 11-02-2018, 03:11 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,033
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisdee View Post
Yes I have.
Or maby not. I managed to run a full session with about 20 live VI's with several aux sends fx @96kHz, 32bit with hardware buffer size of 64 samples..

I've tested with different cpu priority and affinity settings but it's pretty strange.

Sometimes it works just fine during playback and recording. CPU meter shows overall about 20% usage and I can't get it to overload or crash even recording 2 VI's simultaniosly playing 30+ notes together with hands, elbows and all. When I stop playback or recording the CPU meters fly all the way to 90-100%.

Hmm, opposite of what I would expect.

If I change affinity by just one CPU core I start getting 9093 messages. Also I if I try to change affinity back to what worked I get 9093 messages. Seems to work at some settings for a period and suddenly i start getting 9093 messages.

Any suggestions?
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #6752  
Old 11-03-2018, 04:49 AM
critza critza is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 352
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

I also bought an extreme 7980XE 18-core and have it OCd to 4.2, i have it watercooled but i am pretty certain that u can reach around 4 with a noctua D15 which is really silent.
You are striving to reach very low latency at very high settings and i have also had high expectations with my CPU, my system is also based on a NVME ssd from samsung and i honestly feel it very slow at times. My old i7 4core boots in half the time compared to my new system and feels much faster.
What windows tweaks have you done?
I have unlocked the ultimate power mode, and made some minor tweaks here and there.
__________________
PC 7980XE @ 4.2
PT 12.7 Ableton 10.0.1
Great River ME-1NV, Ehrlund EHR-M, Axiom Pro 49, Brauner Valvet, Oktavamod MXL-910, RODE NT5 with Oktavamod MJE-384K, Crane Song Trakker, SSL 611EQ, SSL X-Desk, Sennheiser HD600/650
IS Pro Double 6" Speakers, www.intelligentsound.se/
Reply With Quote
  #6753  
Old 11-07-2018, 01:53 AM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,711
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Hey guys, I'm putting together a spec for my new computer for the truck I am buying.

What's the consensus on workstation graphics card with Protools?

I have a Quadro M2000M with 4GB of RAM on my Lenovo P50, and I feel like a big part of the stability of this laptop is the inclusion of that rendering card and the more stable drivers that Nvidia uses for their workstation class cards.

I'd like to run 2 or 3 screens for Protools.

I'm looking at the Gigabyte x299 Designare LGA 2066 motherboard with an Intel i7 -7820X 8 core CPU. Or maybe the i7-9700K 8 core with the Gygabyte Z390 Designare LGA 1151 motherboard. Either way, I want a mother board with two TB3 ports built onto it.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com
Head Audio/A1 Blue Man Group: Speechless tour

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #6754  
Old 11-07-2018, 03:43 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,033
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by critza View Post
My old i7 4core boots in half the time compared to my new system and feels much faster.
That doesn't sound right. Shouldn't your new i9-7980XE boot much faster and perform much better than your old i7 rig?
It does to me. My Windows 10 boot time is under half of what it was on my i7-970 rig. PT Ultimate boot time and session open time is also halved.
That said I was expecting to be able to run PT with 64 samples hbs @ 96k with 20+ live VI's (no freezing or bouncing) without issues, but I can't reliably.
So that's a dissapointment.

Quote:
Originally Posted by critza View Post
What windows tweaks have you done?
I have gone through the list of optimizations :
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/t...ndows-10-Guide

Didn't test PT befor the optimizations so I couldn't tell if they helped anything.
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #6755  
Old 11-12-2018, 11:14 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,711
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

How are you guys getting along on your 6 core builds? Enough power to run all native systems?

Or are 8 cores a better investment, long term?
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com
Head Audio/A1 Blue Man Group: Speechless tour

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #6756  
Old 11-13-2018, 04:30 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,033
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
How are you guys getting along on your 6 core builds? Enough power to run all native systems?

Or are 8 cores a better investment, long term?

I just bought a i9-7940x 14 core rig, but I now see my old i7-970 6 core rig has enough power for VI's plugins and all. My old rig only has 12GB memory and since I use quite a few VI's it has been a bootle neck for a while.


But if you have a rig with more memory a 6 core works just fine.
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #6757  
Old 11-13-2018, 07:09 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,918
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

I don't have issues relating to my 6 core i7 CPU. Large sessions, plenty of power.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #6758  
Old 11-13-2018, 10:53 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

FWIW, my i7 rigs all booted very fast with an SSD system drive. My current HP Z820 takes a lot longer to boot(also SSD) and something in the system architecture makes it so the Samsung Magician software will not see the drive to optimize it(got a support ticket with Samsung but they are not coming back to answer my last question)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6759  
Old 11-14-2018, 12:46 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,033
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
FWIW, my i7 rigs all booted very fast with an SSD system drive. My current HP Z820 takes a lot longer to boot(also SSD) and something in the system architecture makes it so the Samsung Magician software will not see the drive to optimize it(got a support ticket with Samsung but they are not coming back to answer my last question)

Is it the Bios or Windows part of the boot process that takes longer?
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #6760  
Old 12-06-2018, 10:19 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,848
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisdee View Post
Is it the Bios or Windows part of the boot process that takes longer?
HP Bios's take forever to post. Mine takes around 3 min to get out of the bios screen
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs sunburst79 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2416 02-19-2013 07:49 PM
new to pc builds chazc080488 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 10-18-2011 07:10 PM
any p45 builds fofif5792 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-09-2008 12:47 PM
OSX "builds" Richard Barrie Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-18-2004 08:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com